Paul

Paul

I have lived in the Southwest for about 15 years whilst my children have grown up. When not working (teaching), I try to get outdoors as much as possible - kayaking, cycling and occasionally just walking. I feel fortunate to live in a place where all of these activities are worthwhile.

Tutoring Experience

Currently, I work at a sixth form college teaching chemistry A level. I have over 20 years science teaching experience in a range of secondary schools including over 10 years at Holyrood Academy in Chard. Additionally, I have taught physics up to A'level and all sciences at GCSE. As a practising teacher, I keep up to date with the specification changes and the changing examinations. For over 15 years, I have also marked A level exam papers for OCR so I am very familiar with the requirements for accurate answers including the differences from other exam boards which I teach.

Tutoring Approach

The requirements of each student are quite different and being able to recognise these differences and respond quickly to them are key to successful tutoring. I am guided by the needs identified by the student but can also help them to recognise those areas where more support is needed. With over 20 years teaching experience, I have a wide range of different approaches to problem solving and revision techniques. In tutoring, I ask a lot of questions of the students. To make effective progress, it is important to establish a dialogue where the student if comfortable to explain their understanding and not be afraid to make mistakes.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of York1993PGCESecondary science 11-18
University of York1992BachelorsBSc (Hons) 1st Class

Paul's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Paul
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism