Information About Patricia - Nottingham tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Patricia's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Patricia:





Subjects Taught

Patricia offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Patricia (Mrs)


Personal Description:

Having worked as a Teaching Assistant for over 12 years, as a specialist Maths T.A. and in Special Educational Needs, I have experience in supporting and teaching students in Maths. I live in Wollaton with my husband, close to the Fernwood Schools, which my three children attended. I have worked in primary, secondary and nursery Schools and I really enjoy working with children and young people. I also teach children, aged 3-6 years, at my church on Sundays.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked in a Nottingham Secondary School (2004-2012), as a Teaching Assistant (2004-2011) in Special Educational Needs (S.E.N.) (2004-2006), then in the Maths department (2006-2011) and as an unqualified teacher (2011-2012) in Maths.
I am experienced in supporting students' learning in Maths in both small groups and 1:1, in Key Stages 3 & 4 (i.e. ages 11 to 16 years) at all levels including top, middle and lower sets, and those with S.E.N.
I have also planned and taught Maths lessons to small groups of students with different goals and needs, including a group of GCSE students who had gained grade C and were working towards a higher grade. I also planned and taught a group of students with special needs who were studying Entry Level Maths.
I tutored a Year 11 student after school in 1:1 Maths sessions to support her Maths GCSE studies. She was working at grade C/D borderline, but with hard work and my support she achieved GCSE Maths grade C.

Tutoring Approach:

I am friendly and enjoy helping people of all ages to learn. I have a patient, listening approach so I can discover strengths, as well as gaps and weaknesses, in students’ knowledge and understanding of a subject. I adjust my tutoring style to suit students’ needs and personality and aim to build their confidence alongside progress in the subject. Having had wide experience of supporting students at different levels and of varying abilities I am able to tailor sessions individually.


  • University of Nottingham (2014) - Post Graduate Certificate in Educational Theory (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • New College Nottingham (2001) - N.V.Q. Level 3 in Early Years Care and Education (College) (✔ On File)
  • University College Cardiff (1980) - BSc Hons in Biochemistry (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Bullerswood School for Girls, Kent (1976) - 'A' levels in Maths, Biology and Chemistry (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Nottingham Maths tutor, Nottingham Secondary Maths tutor, Nottingham GCSE Maths tutor