Skip to main content

Information About Omari - Chelsea tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Omari's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Omari:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £55.00£44.00
Secondary £55.00£44.00
GCSE £55.00£44.00

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £55.00£44.00
Secondary £55.00£44.00
GCSE £55.00£44.00
A-Level £55.00£44.00
University £60.00£48.00

Spanish

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £55.00£44.00
GCSE £55.00£44.00
A-Level £55.00£44.00
University £60.00£48.00
Casual Learner £55.00£44.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £55.00£44.00
13 Plus £55.00£44.00
14 Plus £55.00£44.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £55.00£44.00

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £55.00£44.00
Secondary £55.00£44.00
GCSE £55.00£44.00
A-Level £55.00£44.00
University £60.00£48.00

Map Location

Map for Omari (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I´m a specialist in online tuition. I´ve taught home lessons one-on-one for over 5 years to over 200 pupils and I´ve gained lots of invaluable experience teaching and homeschooliong different students and can adapt to all sorts of learning styles and needs. I don´t use Skype, I use a dedicated online learning platform. My lessons are interactive and the student can share work for me to edit or correct in real time and I can set them questions and use interactive whiteboard facilities to reproduce the in-class experience.

After graduating from New College, Oxford with Joint Honours in English & Spanish, I trained and worked as a broadcast journalist at the BBC. As much as I liked the BBC, I realised that I loved tutoring. So, in 2012 I took the leap and I've been tutoring full-time ever since.

As a dedicated professional tutor - and not a aspiring actor or struggling artist - I offer my students real consistency. I've worked with many families for three years, taking their children successfully through each stage of their school career.

Aside from tutoring, I'm very passionate about Latin America and, as well as keeping up my Spanish, I now dance with a Brazilian samba school, practise Capoeria and I'm busy trying to get my backpacker's Portuguese up to a fluent level!

Tutoring Experience:

I'm lively, enthusiastic and highly organised and have over 6 years of tutoring and mentoring experience behind me. The last three of these have been as a committed full-time professional.

Over that time I’ve worked one-to-one with more than 150 students from 7 years old to mature, busy professionals and from Dover to Russia. Through the many talks, tours and school visits I’ve done, I’ve worked with countless more.

As well as pupils of all ages, I’ve taught twins, friends and whole families, including the parents!.

I’ve also supported a whole spectrum of abilities, including pupils who have recently moved to England or attend international schools, such as the French Lycée.

Similarly, I’ve worked with a range of learning difficulties, including dyslexia, dyspraxia, ADD, processing problems and autism.

I really relish the variety every student brings and it’s been a pleasure getting to know each one.

A large part of my work is preparing students for the 11+ and 13+ exams. I pride myself on offering a level of focus and step-by-step guidance that parents can trust to rival the top prep and day schools and leave their child confident and well-prepared for these competitive exams.

When teaching English, Maths, VR and non-VR for 11+ I deliver confidence-boosting and engaging lessons using a wide range of materials, including many I’ve produced myself after countless hours seeing first-hand where pupils tend to trip up.

I also teach all subjects at Common Entrance confidently (except French) and I’ve prepared students to the both the ISEB syllabus and the tailored scholarship exams of the most rigorous public schools, like Eton, Westminster and Harrow.

My pupils have had fabulous success at both 11+ and 13+, gaining places at St Paul’s Girls, Haberdashers Askes, City of London Girls and Boys, KCS Wimbledon, Emanuel, Latymer, Westminster, Radley, Tonbridge, and Harrow.

I have also prepared several students for 7+ and 9+ entry (as well as to sit for occasional places) at many of London’s most competitive prep schools, including Colet Court, Francis Holland and Eaton Square.

I read English and Spanish at Oxford and these are my particular specialisms. I teach both subjects at GCSE, A Level, IB and beyond.

I teach and have taught all the exam boards (OCR, Edexcel, AQA, Pre-U and WJEC) and I’m familiar with each of their specific requirements and discrete challenges.

With me students who struggled with English and Spanish have gone on to have amazing breakthroughs and raise their grades from Cs and Ds to A*s and As.

I never forget to treat my students as individuals, with unique talents as much as specific needs. I believe this has been the secret of my success and I’m just as proud of the fantastic friendships I’ve built with them and their families as the results themselves. Ultimately, I think it’s this that has kept families inviting me back term after term and year after year.

Tutoring Approach:

Communication is my first passion.

Being able to communicate effectively in speech and writing is what first attracted me to English and it's also what draws me to Spanish: learning how to communicate fluently and with nuance in another language has never lost its appeal.

Now as a tutor, communication is still central to my approach. I take the time to get to know my students. Discovering their individual talents is just as important to me as pinpointing their specific needs. As a result, my lessons are very dynamic and interactive rather than static and lecturing.

I may get up and move around the room to show a student the power of using that key verb in a sentence or allow them to be teacher for a moment and have them explain a difficult Maths concept to me, that way they know they have complete ownership of the solution.

Qualifications:

  • Oxford University (2009) - BA Hons English & Spanish 2:1 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Dulwich College (2005) - A Level English 'A' (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Dulwich College (2005) - A Level Spanish 'A' (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Dulwich College (2005) - A Level Ancient History 'A' (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chelsea Maths tutor, Chelsea English tutor, Chelsea Spanish tutor, Chelsea Entrance Exams tutor, Chelsea English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chelsea Study Skills tutor, Chelsea Primary Maths tutor, Chelsea Secondary Maths tutor, Chelsea GCSE Maths tutor, Chelsea Primary English tutor, Chelsea Secondary English tutor, Chelsea GCSE English tutor, Chelsea A-Level English tutor, Chelsea University English tutor, Chelsea Secondary Spanish tutor, Chelsea GCSE Spanish tutor, Chelsea A-Level Spanish tutor, Chelsea University Spanish tutor, Chelsea Casual Learner Spanish tutor, Chelsea Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Chelsea Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Chelsea GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Chelsea Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chelsea Primary Study Skills tutor, Chelsea Secondary Study Skills tutor, Chelsea GCSE Study Skills tutor, Chelsea A-Level Study Skills tutor, Chelsea University Study Skills tutor