Skip to main content

Information About Omar - Canonbury tutor

Profile Picture

Omar's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Omar:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £50.00
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Omar (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a mathematician who enjoys teaching.

I did my undergrad math studies at Universidad Central de Venezuela, in my home town Caracas. I graduated as Valedictorian with Summa Laude honors.

After that, I moved to Australia for my graduate studies and received my PhD degree in pure mathematics from The University of Melbourne. My PhD thesis was awarded as the most outstanding postgraduate thesis in mathematics submitted at the University during 2011-2013.

In 2013 I accepted a two-years Post Doctoral Fellowship and Assistant Professor position at the University of Western Ontario, Canada, a job that consists in researching pure math and teaching math courses at the university.

Recently, I moved to the UK to work on a startup company in software development. I have a very flexible schedule and intend to continue teaching math as a parallel job.

Tutoring Experience:

I have an extensive teaching experience at university level. Both as tutor/teaching assistant and as lecturer/instructor:

- Aug. 2013 – Aug. 2015: Assistant Professor. University of Western Ontario. Subjects: Methods of Matrix Algebra, Methods of Finite Mathematics, Intermediate Calculus I.
- Jul. 2011 – May 2013: Tutor. University of Melbourne. Subjects: Group Theory, Calculus I, Linear Algebra, Introduction to Mathematics.
- Sep. 2009 – Jan. 2010: Graduate Instructor. Universidad Central de Venezuela. Subject: General Mathematics I.
- Mar. 2007 – Apr. 2009: Teaching Assistant. Universidad Central de Venezuela. Subjects: General Mathematics I and II, Differential Geometry, Functional Analysis.

Additionally, I also have about 5 years of experience teaching mathematics as a private tutor across a wide range of subjects in secondary and tertiary level.

I have consistently received good feedback from students, with university surveys always placing me well above average as a lecturer.

Tutoring Approach:

I am an easy to approach tutor and always keep a friendly atmosphere during tutorials.

Every student is different, so I customize the speed and density of my teaching according to each tutee's own strengths and weaknesses, always making sure that all concepts are well assimilated. I believe no question is stupid, and encourage tutees to ask questions as often as needed to fully understand the material.

Regarding time, I normally prefer to spend as many hours as required for the tutee to feel comfortable enough with one topic before moving on to the next one, starting with a review of the textbook and lecture notes, and then focusing on exercises. However, this is flexible and adjustable to the tutee's needs.

I will not teach more than 6 hours a week, keeping the total number of tutees low for best results.

Qualifications:

  • The University of Melbourne (2013) - PhD Science - Mathematics (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Universidad Central de Venezuela (2007) - Bachelors of Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Spanish
Additional Languages: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Canonbury Maths tutor, Canonbury Spanish tutor, Canonbury Primary Maths tutor, Canonbury Secondary Maths tutor, Canonbury GCSE Maths tutor, Canonbury A-Level Maths tutor, Canonbury University Maths tutor, Canonbury Casual Learner Maths tutor, Canonbury Primary Spanish tutor, Canonbury Secondary Spanish tutor, Canonbury GCSE Spanish tutor, Canonbury A-Level Spanish tutor, Canonbury University Spanish tutor, Canonbury Casual Learner Spanish tutor