Skip to main content

Information About Oliver - Highbury tutor

Profile Picture

Oliver's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Oliver:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Music

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Oliver

Personal Description:

I am completing my Masters in Music Studies at the University of Cambridge with an Isaac Newton Trust scholarship. I am supervised by Nicholas Cook (author of Music: A Very Short Introduction). So far I have averaged a distinction.

In 2015, I achieved a First Class Honours in BMus Music at King's College London, where I was taught performance, composition, and essay writing in equal measure. I received firsts for all of my final year essays. I also achieved the second highest mark in the year for my dissertation.

I was trained as a pianist by world-renowned Florian Mitrea at Royal Academy of Music. In my final year performance recital, I gained the highest mark across the undergraduate cohort (85%).

I have above all learned how to face challenges and overcome them. In doing so I have gained invaluable insights into the process of learning which I hope to share with you. Above all, I understand the pitfalls we encounter on the path to learning and what is involved when things go wrong or we get stuck as I have been there myself.

I can also help with university applications. Though my undergraduate degree was in academic music, I took my piano lessons at Royal Academy of Music throughout that time. With experience in both academic and conservatoire environments, I can help you decide which route into music is right for you.

I can help you with:
- Music (all levels, including GCSE, A Level and Undergraduate level)
- Maths (GCSE and A Level)
- Essay Writing (including proofreading and editing, help with structure and general essay writing skills).
- Piano (beginner to Grade 8)
- Advice on University applications and what to do once you get to university to do well.

Aside from music, my analytical mind has proven very good at maths. I have a very solid understanding of Edexcel's Core maths modules, having achieved over 90% in each (C1 - C4), including 100% in C3.

I look forward to sharing all that I have learned, being a good role-model to your child, or a source of musical or mathematical inspiration and knowledge to you.

Tutoring Experience:

In 2016-2017 led and taught a Mindfulness Music group in my college at University of Cambridge. Throughout my academic career, I have been able to tutor my peers. I also have experience teaching advanced English as part of a language exchange.

Early in my career as an academic, I realised that one of the most valuable skills is being able to explain things to others as simply and effectively as possible. I am so fortunate to have been taught by some of the very best music teachers in the industry during my time at university, and I have learned a great deal from my immersion in their classes and the personal tuition they have given me.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe inspiration is an intrinsic element to the process of learning: we learn much better when we are inspired to do so. I will help you form the necessary habits that provide continual motivation to study and learn. To work with, I am a patient and conscientious, but also critical and scrupulous.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (2017) - MPhil Music studies (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • King's College London (2015) - First Class Honours, Music (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Akeley Wood School (2012) - A* Maths A Level (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Highbury Music tutor, Highbury GCSE Music tutor, Highbury A-Level Music tutor, Highbury University Music tutor, Highbury Casual Learner Music tutor