Information About Oliver - Leeds tutor

Profile Picture

Oliver's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Oliver:





Subjects Taught

Oliver offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
GCSE £24.00
A-Level £28.00
Casual Learner £24.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £24.00
A-Level £28.00
Casual Learner £24.00


Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £24.00


Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £24.00

Map Location

Map for Oliver (Mr)


Personal Description:

Personalised, accessible and effective tuition from an experienced physics graduate.

Hello! My name is Oliver, I'm 23 years old and I work as a tutor in and around Headingley in Leeds.

I recently graduated with a first class Master's degree in Physics, achieved A*AAAA in my A-levels, have a 2016 DBS check and loads of experience tutoring.

I'm a friendly, patient person and I'm and easy to get on with. I pride myself on being able to explain things in a way that's easy to understand, and in finding ways to address students' problems uniquely.

Tutoring Experience:

I've been tutoring in my spare time since I was studying for my A-levels 7 years ago, and tutoring has been my full time job since I graduated in June 2015. In university I regularly organised group study sessions during which my coursemates told me I had a knack for explaining things and should consider teaching- this is what prompted me to start tutoring. I've taught maths and physics to GCSE and A Level students on all major exam boards, as well as helping people with access courses and degree courses with maths elements.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe that performing well in a subject comes down to being given explanations that work for the individual- it's easy to learn when things "make sense", but unfortunately this isn't always the case in school or college lessons where teachers have limited time and can't afford to give each pupil the attention they need. It's important to me that knowledge can be shared regardless of different thinking styles, and I always make an effort to ensure that students have a strong understanding of the fundamentals behind a topic before going in-depth.

I asked a lot of questions when I was in school, and understand how frustrating it can be to not be given the "reasons why" behind what the teacher is saying. My knowledge of (and enthusiasm for) all areas of science and maths means that I'm well equipped to answer these questions and ensure that my tutees have the best possible understanding of their subject.

Generally, sessions will be focused on specific problem areas in a topic to begin with. Once these problems have been addressed and tutees are generally familiar with the material, sessions will be spent going through past exam papers to make sure that students are comfortable with the exam style and are able to easily tackle any problems that might come up.


  • University of Leeds (2015) - 1:1 MPhys Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • The Downs School & 6th Form, Berkshire (2011) - A* in A level Maths (College) (✔ On File)
  • The Downs School & 6th Form, Berkshire (2011) - A in A level Physics (College) (✔ On File)
  • The Downs School & 6th Form, Berkshire (2011) - A in A level Further Maths (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leeds Maths tutor, Leeds Physics tutor, Leeds Chemistry tutor, Leeds Biology tutor, Leeds GCSE Maths tutor, Leeds A-Level Maths tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Maths tutor, Leeds GCSE Physics tutor, Leeds A-Level Physics tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Physics tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Chemistry tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Biology tutor