Skip to main content

Information About Oliver - Salford tutor

Profile Picture

Oliver's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Oliver:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00

Map Location

Map for Oliver (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a Maths and Philosophy graduate, with a keen interest in sport, music and journalism. Also, I have just finished studying a Masters in Social Research Methods and Statistics, with my graduation for that expected in December.
I reаlly enjоy wоrking with children and young people аnd they seem tо enjоy wоrking with me. Teаching is in my fаmily, аs my mum is а primаry schооl teаcher, I guess yоu cоuld sаy it`s is in my blооd!
As well as working in schools and tutoring, I hаve wоrk experience in mediа оffices, аs а gаrdener, in volunteering аnd аs а repоrter fоr the University оf Mаnchester`s student newspаper. I think my flexibility helps the children I tutоr, аs I hаve а vаriety оf methоds аt my dispоsаl, which enаbles them to enjоy the wоrk, understаnd mоre eаsily and remember it.

Tutoring Experience:

I work in my old primary school, in North London. When I can, I help out in maths lessons, and teach the level 6 group to help with exam preparation. I also help teach the Rock music group and play drum-kit for a year 6 productions, when needed.
I have also tutored privately for a number of years. I have taught drum-kit, Maths, and English, so I can offer a combination of subjects too. The students I teach enjoy the sessions and I get really good feedback from the parents too! I am happy to tutor primary or secondary and can offer Maths from key stage 2 through to A level.

Tutoring Approach:

While making sure that I cover all of work, I think it's important to make learning stimulating and fun. I am patient and I have a varied approach to teaching, finding the ways the student learns best. With one student, we had learning breaks where he played the drums, and this helped him concentrate and kept him motivated. Although I am rigorous in my approach, I believe students learn best when they are relaxed and enjoying the work.

Qualifications:

  • University of Manchester (2014) - BSc with Honours (2.1) - Maths and Philosophy (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Fortismere (2010) - A-level - Maths - A* (College) (✔ On File)
  • Fortismere (2010) - A-level - English - B (College) (✔ On File)
  • Fortismere (2010) - A-level - Geography - B (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Salford Maths tutor, Salford Primary Maths tutor, Salford Secondary Maths tutor, Salford GCSE Maths tutor, Salford A-Level Maths tutor