Skip to main content

Information About Oliver - West Byfleet tutor

Profile Picture

Oliver's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Oliver:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Oliver offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Oliver

Personal Description:

I am a qualified Primary Teacher and have been working in the UK for the last eleven years. Prior to that I taught English as a foreign language in Thailand, Sri Lanka and Spain.

Tutoring Experience:

As a Primary Teacher I have taught across the whole age range, from Reception through to Year 6. As well as working as a whole class teacher I have been lucky enough to work one-to-one with many children. I am a Year 1 and 2 Maths specialist and spent a year as a one-to-one Maths tutor working with children to boost their basic number and calculation skills. I also have five years’ experience teaching Phonics. In Years 3 to 6 I am a trained Literacy specialist and tutored children one-to-one to improve their writing skills. I have also worked as a SATS (Year 6) tutor for both Maths and English. Over the past nine years I have also gained considerable experience working with children with special educational needs including autism, ADHD and Tourette’s. I have now been tutoring in Surrey for the last two years.

Tutoring Approach:

Firstly, in communication with the parents, and during the initial sessions, I will assess the child’s needs and build a tailored programme that will suit both their learning styles and interests. I believe that key to meaningful progress is building a relaxed and trusting relationship with a child and, most importantly, providing interesting, challenging and enjoyable lessons. For those children struggling with a subject in the classroom, their own self-esteem and self-belief is often one of the biggest obstacles to overcome. Accordingly, my approach is to be very positive, use a lot of praise and set achievable goals so that they can begin to experience success as quickly as possible. I find that my pupils make excellent progress, quickly grow in confidence and at the same time thoroughly enjoy their learning.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Edge Hill University (2011) - Numbers Count Teacher (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Durand Primary School (2008) - Primary Teacher (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • Exeter University (2007) - Primary Teacher (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University Of East Anglia (1998) - Ba Hons Drama (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: West Byfleet Maths tutor, West Byfleet English tutor, West Byfleet English (Foreign Language) tutor, West Byfleet Primary Maths tutor, West Byfleet Primary English tutor, West Byfleet Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, West Byfleet Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, West Byfleet Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor