Information About Odin - Wakefield tutor

Profile Picture

Odin's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Odin:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£20.00
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£20.00
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£20.00
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £25.00£20.00
University £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

Map Location

Map for Odin (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a multi-discipline language teacher living and working in the Leeds area. I have lived in 5 countries learning languages, translating and getting to grips with new and very different cultures.
During the 20 years I spent abroad I was teaching, translating and even wrote and presented a Brazilian, English language, radio show in São Paulo.
I came back to the UK a couple of years ago.
After getting myself orientated back in the UK, I set up a small company teaching, translating and interpreting.
My girlfriend is a counsellor and teaches French. We've now bought a small house together, with a great little space for doing classes (and counselling sessions - special rates if you come to us here).
We are expecting our first child; a boy called Robin.

Tutoring Experience:

I teach German, Spanish, Portuguese and English-as-a-second-language.
I have over 20 years of experience teaching, translating and interpreting.
I've lived and worked in the Czech Republic, Germany, Spain, Brazil and the UK.
I`ve worked in state schools, private schools and language schools; social projects in South American shanty towns; I've worked at company offices and given private tuition at students' homes.
I work with all ages and all levels.
Since setting up in the UK a year ago, I have been interpreting in Human Rights cases, translating for individuals and local companies and tutoring in English, German and Spanish here in the Leeds area.

Tutoring Approach:

Basically, we work to a textbook course, as a path to guide us. And then we wander off into other areas as and when you want to; sometimes to practise something you've learned in a different and exciting new way and sometimes just for fun.
Books are great, and important when you're working to a school or college syllabus - but it's also about music, recipes, humour, cultural traditions, folk tales and the simple fun of discovering something new.

With over 20 years of experience working with people from many different backgrounds, I've found some things to be true:

Every brain works slightly differently.
If you already speak a language (as almost everyone does), then the mechanical bit (your brain) works just fine. If you've done it once and got one language down pretty much perfectly (and there's no level higher than 'native' level) then you can do it again.
So, as a tutor, I think it's about understanding how a person ticks.
Then it's about inspiration and enthusiasm.
Once someone's interest is ignited, it's then about guiding them, and their enthusiasm, on their own learning journey; helping each individual to access their own potential and just letting it flow and gradually picking up confidence and speed.

First and foremost, it's about you!


  • Prague (1992) - TEFL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German, Portuguese, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Wakefield German tutor, Wakefield Spanish tutor, Wakefield English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wakefield Primary German tutor, Wakefield Secondary German tutor, Wakefield GCSE German tutor, Wakefield Casual Learner German tutor, Wakefield Primary Spanish tutor, Wakefield Secondary Spanish tutor, Wakefield GCSE Spanish tutor, Wakefield Casual Learner Spanish tutor, Wakefield Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wakefield Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wakefield GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wakefield A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wakefield University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wakefield Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor