Skip to main content

Information About Norma - Margate tutor -

Profile Picture

Norma's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Norma:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00
13 Plus £25.00
14 Plus £25.00
College £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Norma

Personal Description:

I am a native English speaker with 20 years of teaching experience. I find it easy to build good relationships with my clients and their families. I have a natural vocation for teaching and am full of enthusiasm for the English language and its wealth of literature. I aim to inspire my students, children or adults, to achieve the very best results in English that is so vital for success in life. My experience is broad and I have worked in business as well as teaching, both in the UK and abroad. This wider work experience is invaluable in a teaching role as I understand the importance that good English plays in forging a successful career and building self confidence. Our top employers seek candidates who are able to express themselves well in both the written and spoken language.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching English Language and Literature for over 20 years. I work with students at English KS2, KS3 and KS4 as well as English as a second language. If it is 11 plus tuition that you seek, I have expert knowledge of grammar school criteria and lessons are delivered accordingly. I tutor for English GCSE and IGCSE on a regular basis. In addition, I offer tuition to adults who wish to improve their business English, both in their writing and presentational skills. I place great importance on the old fashioned values of spelling, grammar and punctuation.

I have worked in the Middle East teaching English so am accustomed to different cultures and working with students who do not have English as their first language. I also have experience of teaching children who have more challenging needs.

My students succeed to the very best of their ability and I work closely with them to achieve their desired outcomes. If you are seeking 11 plus entry to a grammar school or entry to an independent school, then I will help you to achieve those goals. I tutor for English GCSE and also the International GCSE. My students regularly achieve A* grades and two students gained scholarships to top independent schools.

I am proud to say that most of my students come to me from personal recommendation. References are available if so desired.

Tutoring Approach:

Hard work, inspiration and enjoyment are key elements of tutoring sessions. Past exam papers are used regularly to measure progress and familiarise students with the standards expected. Homework is set.
I plan and tailor lessons and give feedback at the end of each session to parent/guardian.

If you would like any further information please get in touch. I look forward to tutoring your child so they may succeed and achieve top results.
I tutor from home or am able to travel within a reasonable distance.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • London University (1999) - English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • London City & Guilds (1998) - Learning Support Special Needs (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (1997) - Teaching Ethic Minorities (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Royal Society of Arts (1978) - Business Administration (Professional) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Margate English tutor, Margate Entrance Exams tutor, Margate English (Foreign Language) tutor, Margate Primary English tutor, Margate Secondary English tutor, Margate GCSE English tutor, Margate Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Margate Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Margate GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Margate A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Margate Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor