Nina

Maths Tuition in Stanmore

I consider myself a very calm, patient and friendly person. I am a very organised person and work methodically with children. I have a natural ability in communicating with children and therefore, I can work very productively with them and get the very best out of them. I genuinely enjoy helping children with the work that they might be struggling with and raising their confidence level in their ability.

Tutoring Experience

Professionally I am a Computer Scientist and after having worked as a Business Consultant and an Analyst Programmer for several years, I had a career break to raise my two children. This was the time when I had gained most of my teaching experience.
I have hands-on experience in teaching them how to read, write and do Maths. I helped them through the 11+ Entrance exams for both the Private and Grammar schools and saw them through the Secondary school education. This is how I have a detailed knowledge of the curriculum; I have invested a huge amount of time and money in their education.

Currently, I work in a local primary school assisting in the classroom as well as supervising children in the playground. Here, I have managed to strengthen my teaching experience. I also have pupils whom I tutor privately at home, which I find very fulfilling. If need be, I am happy for you to talk to their parents for reference purposes.

Tutoring Approach

I believe that my approach to tutoring is very unique. I prefer one-to-one teaching as oppose to group teaching because I can dedicate all my energy to each child. I think that this is very important in order to raise the standard the child is working at. It allows me to get to know the child and build that trusting relationship. My approach allows the child to be himself/herself and not be afraid of their knowledge and making mistakes. I believe in encouraging the child all the time in order to raise their confidence.

I tailor the study according to each child's ability as well as taking into account the parent's views of their child's proficiency. I am very flexible, approachable and open to different views. I work from variety of resources which helps to meet the child's requirements. I like to ensure that their foundation is solid and I work with them at a minute detail as though they were my own children. It makes the child feel very special and that they have something that they can be proud of.

It is immensely rewarding to see a child pick up what you teach and can slowly do things independently.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Gujarati, Hindi
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Royal Holloway College, University of London1983BachelorsComputer Science Bsc(Hons)
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught