Information About Nikisha - Stanmore tutor

Profile Picture

Nikisha's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Nikisha:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Nikisha (Miss)


Personal Description:

Hello prospective students!

My name is Nikisha, an enthusiastic tutor who is studying BA English Literature at Brunel University London. After my degree, I would like to become an English teacher and personal English tutor.

I am a young, friendly and easy-going professional tutor that is well experienced at working with students of all ages and abilities. My expertise is English Literature and my qualifications, teaching experience and academic knowledge make me a suitable candidate for a much wider range of subjects and ages. Achieving an A in English Literature at GCSE and A Level, allows me to pass on my knowledge of the field to other students and help them to achieve a high grade.
I volunteer at Radio Harrow every week which also makes me more creative than your average English teacher and I like to teach students in a way which is suited to them and which they remember (and enjoy!) I am an all rounded person and believe in widening a student’s horizons academically, professionally and socially.

Whether you are revising for an exam, working on coursework, applying for a particular course or institution or simply wanting to develop your academic skills, my engaging tutoring sessions will reap huge benefits for you. I also provide help with CV writing, personal statements for University and general writing tips for academic and life success!

I also offer summer crash courses of ten, fifteen and twenty lessons. If you would like to pay in advance a 10% discount is available. In these lessons I will cover all the essential skills needed for English Language and Literature.

Tutoring Experience:

I have experience teaching different age groups under my belt. For two years I gained classroom experience, teaching a broad range of students at a tuition centre in Kenton called Swot Shop. While I was here I taught students between the ages of 4-12 and assisted everyday with 11+ evening classes. Since then my students have been accepted in to excellent schools such as Parmitters, Watford Grammar and Merchant Taylor's.

In addition I gained further classroom experience from 2014-2015, with a broader range of student needs at Harrow College Saturday School. My time here allowed me to tutor students at GCSE level and become fluent with the different exam boards. My GCSE students then went on to study English Literature at A Level and are enjoying the experience. The Saturday School was a lot smaller than the tuition centre therefore I had experience tutoring students in a small group or a one to one basis.

Throughout my teaching experience I have taught many forms of literacy and critical thinking. I know how to tailor my lessons to individual students whether they are learning English for fun, studying for entrance exams or working toward a particular exam specification. I am comfortable and experienced teaching all ages and abilities! I am dedicated and competent at my chosen field and will endeavour to bring the best out of each student.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach always considers the needs of my individual student. I like to know the personal goals of my students and what they hope to achieve from tuition. I always aim to make lessons fun and engaging and have been praised for having an approachable and inclusive manner with all my students. I can empathise with students of all ages as I am a student myself and I am aware of the difficulties which students face on a day to day basis at school, college and university. Therefore I am able to tackle these difficulties and turn them in to stepping stones for achievement.

From the age of 11, students are faced with masses of work and pressure which only increases as their education continues. This sometimes results in stress and other factors which can hinder their performance at school and I am completely aware of this. I will provide techniques on how to cope with stress and different revision methods as all students learn in different ways. I will also help students if they need help on general writing skills, CV practice and personal statements which will benefit them when it comes to job and university interviews.

I always tailor my teaching to the demands and deadlines of the individual. Being an English student, I have a wide access to a variety of resources which will help me tackle any part of the curriculum for students. After each session I will debrief the parents and student with my verdict of what needs to be done and a structure is put in place of how we will achieve the target in the time that we have together.


  • St Dominics Sixth Form College (2015) - A Levels. English: A (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Park High School (2013) - GCSE's: English Literature & Language, Philosophy and Ethics History, Maths, Drama, IT: A. Triple Science, Spanish B (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stanmore English tutor, Stanmore Primary English tutor, Stanmore Secondary English tutor, Stanmore GCSE English tutor, Stanmore A-Level English tutor