Skip to main content

Information About Niels - Highgate tutor

Profile Picture

Niels's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Niels:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Music

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Niels (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

Since moving from the Netherlands to London in 2008 I have been actively working as a professional guitarist/musician in the Greater London area. My work includes performing and recording with various originals bands, playing in a function band at weddings and parties, playing in a contemporary orchestra and teaching in various settings (both private students and groups)

Tutoring Experience:

Since starting to pursue teaching actively two years ago I've been in various teaching environments with people of all ages and many experience levels. This includes teaching the Rock School summer-camp at the Institute of Contemporary Music Performance (ICMP) in Kilburn where I taught a group of 8 - 16 year/olds and in five full-days of lessons gave them an introduction to rock and blues guitar. I also regularly teach my private students in a one-to-one setting from the comfort of their own home. My private students range from 8 years old to 28 years old, with experience levels ranging from complete beginner to intermediate.

My musical education has consisted of 6 years of private lessons with a guitar tutor in the Netherlands, a one-year higher diploma in music performance at the Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, and a three-year Bmus Hons degree at the Institute of Contemporary Music Performance. I also took the licentiate for music teaching course during my Bmus degree studies which was acredited by Rock School.
I have extensive knowledge of guitar specific subjects such as technique, music theory, sight-reading, style-studies and aural skills. Besides this I also have knowledge of and experience with more general music-related topics such as posture (avoiding injury while playing/practicing), music business, music technology, composition (for film and orchestra) and being a bandleader.
My experience of working as a musician in London during the past five years means I have built up an extensive network of professionals and artists in various fields of the industry, a network that could also potentially be a benefit to a dedicated student.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to teaching is highly centered around the individual, focussing lessons on what the student enjoys while pushing them to experiment with new genres and techniques. The first lesson is always used as a means to get to know the student, what experience they have so far, and if they have a particular goal they're trying to reach. After this first encounter the lessons will be focussed specifically on the student's individual goals and interests.
I believe students at any age or experience level learn most when they're having fun, and that fun can go hand-in-hand with dedicated studying.

Qualifications:

  • Educare (2012) - NSPCC Certificate (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Institute of Contemporary Music Performance (2012) - Bachelor of Music (Hons) in Popular Music Performance (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Institute of Contemporary Music Performance (2009) - Edexcel Level 5 BTEC Diploma in Music (Performance) (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Dutch
Additional Languages: English (British), French, German, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Highgate Music tutor, Highgate Secondary Music tutor, Highgate GCSE Music tutor, Highgate A-Level Music tutor, Highgate University Music tutor, Highgate Casual Learner Music tutor