Nicola

Nicola

Prestwick Tutor

I am 29 years old and I live in Monkton in Ayrshire. I have studied French for 14 years and have a great passion for the language. I began tutoring children last year and since then I have really enjoyed helping pupils at both Standard Grade and Higher level improve their capabilities in french. I have also tutored mature students who enjoy learning french as a hobby as well as those who need tuition to further their career.

Tutoring Experience

Apart from tutoring for two years, I have taught at a private school in Chantilly for a period of one year. I have also tutored children at both standard grade and higher level for the school session 08/09.

Tutoring Approach

I feel that the most important thing when teaching pupils to understand a language is to use the language as much as possible. Therefore during lessons, I prefer to encourage my pupils to speak French as often as possible. I do realise that every pupil is different and that if a child or an adult has difficulty in understanding the conversation or feels uncomfortable then I will speak in English with them instead. Although learning is important, it is equally essential that the knowledge is acquired at a pace and in a manner the pupil is completely comfortable with.

Before beginning a course of lessons with me, I ask that all pupils arrange a dossier of work for me. I prefer for pupils to photocopy pages in their jotter or work book showing exercises they feel they have difficulty with. I also ask them to make a list in their own words of the things they struggle with and why they find it difficult as well as the things they enjoy about the language. Finally I ask them to prepare a hundred words in French about themselves. I recommend that each pupil do this without any help whatsoever, including the use of a dictionary.

I offer the option to take up contact with the child's own language teacher, via phone or e-mail as preferred, simply to allow me to ensure that we are working on areas of the language which the child has most difficulty with and also to aid me to measure their progress.

For more mature students I recommend a meeting to asses their capabilities followed by a tailored tutoring programme depending on their skills and requirements. I offer a variety of listening, reading and writing material as well as the opportunity to speak in french as often as they feel comfortable with.

For students who work abroad I offer the option to complete lessons via video link or Skype and e-mail. I would ask however that all my pupils have medium sized French Dictionary and also a comprehensive grammar book I can make recommendations if necessary. I am happy to provide references and if it is not possible to work from your home I would recommend using the facliities at Troon Library.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Glasgow2007MastersM.A honours in French Language and Literature

Nicola's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Nicola
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
French
Primary£25
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£25
Casual Learner£25