Skip to main content

Information About Nicola - Aylesbury tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Nicola:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Nicola offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly Rate
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Nicola (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a qualified teacher and have been teaching since the completion of my degree in 1999. I can offer tuition to students of GCSE, A' Level and Degree courses as well as to those in business. My love of literature comes with a natural capacity to communicate its scope and beauty to others; I have had many happy years in the classroom and am constantly delighted by the ability of young people (and all learners) to surprise themselves given the right combination of inspiration, instruction and space.

Having been both a teacher and a housemistress I am alert to the complexity of young people's lives and to the need for a positive learning environment which draws on the strengths of individuals, allowing them to take ownership of their learning.

Tutoring Experience:

I have over fifteen years' teaching experience, the majority as a full-time English teacher in independent secondary schools. I have always taught students across the age range and of all abilities and my GCSE and AS/A' level groups achieve consistently above expectation in examination.

Before beginning my teaching career in England I taught English language and literature in a Norwegian secondary school, and then literature in a Norwegian teacher-training college. At this time I also privately tutored children and adults in English language. Having additionally held the post of Head of Higher Education I have extensive experience in supporting students to select the right course and institution for higher education and to write a reflective and arresting personal statement.

Alongside my teaching I have always worked in boarding and was a full time Housemistress for three years before leaving to bring up my son.

Tutoring Approach:

My passion and energy for bringing alive the subject of English is strengthened by many years' professional experience. I am ever conscious of the ongoing process of shared learning that exists between student and teacher and I am driven by the challenge of re-igniting the sparks of interest and appreciation which I believe motivate an individual to learn. I set high standards for myself and for my students and I will expect the process to be one of mutual effort and respect.

Language and literature are to be enjoyed and I endeavour to provide sessions which challenge, inspire and enable my students, at all levels, to read, write and enjoy English in the classroom and indeed in life.

I offer tuition to students of all ages and ability from improving basic reading and writing skills to extension classes or essay feedback. I am able to prepare students for examinations of all boards. I am currently available at all times in school holidays and on evenings and weekends in term-time.

Qualifications:

  • Roehampton University (2011) - Certificate of Professional Development - Boarding Education (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Durham University (2001) - English - Secondary Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Queen's University of Belfast (1999) - English Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Aylesbury English tutor, Aylesbury GCSE English tutor, Aylesbury A-Level English tutor, Aylesbury University English tutor, Aylesbury Casual Learner English tutor