Skip to main content

Information About Nicola - Johnstone tutor

Profile Picture

Nicola's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Nicola:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Biology

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00

Share

Personal Description:

Hi my name is Nicola. I am a Principal Teacher of Biology in a school in West Dunbartonshire. I live in the Johnstone area.
I have been teaching Biology in Scotland for 15 years and in that time I have been a principal teacher of Biology for 10 years.
I am highly experienced in my field.
I am very friendly, approachable and subsequently have a good rapport with learners.

Tutoring Experience:

For this academic session I am only accepting tutoring work for National 5 Biology or Higher Human Biology.
Sincere apologies to all you Higher Biology and Advanced Higher Biology Students.

I am very skilled in delivering Higher Human Biology. I have a far reaching familiarity with SQA exam questions. I develop pupil's techniques in how to approach exam questions and develop pupils skills in articulating their answers. I work with pupils to deepen their understanding of the course and build their confidence in their ability.

Tutoring Approach:

I have high expectations and a very strong work ethic. Students should expect to roll up their sleeves and work hard. I will be challenging you and coaching you in your approach to the final exam on Monday 9th May 2016.
I work collaboratively with the student to revise their understanding of the key area within the course. Students will be supported to identify their method of revising course notes. In addition students will be issued homework each week in the form of exam questions to be completed for return the following week. Students will be encouraged to hone skills in bridging the gap between recalling notes from memory and answering exam style questions. I will cover areas of literacy in how to structure and articulate answers.

Again I would like to stress that for this session I will only be tutoring National 5 Biology or Higher Human Biology.

I tutor from home in the PA5 area. I would be expecting students to travel to me. However, I may be able to travel in some circumstances.

Qualifications:

  • University of Glasgow (2000) - Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Paisley (1999) - BSc (Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Johnstone Biology tutor, Johnstone A-Level Biology tutor