Skip to main content

Information About Nick - Clevedon tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Nick's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Nick:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £22.00
A-Level £27.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
GCSE £22.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
GCSE £22.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £22.00
A-Level £27.00

Map Location

Map for Nick (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have been tutoring as my main source of income for a year and really enjoy helping people learn about maths and science. I really appreciate the importance of these subjects at GCSE and A-Level, including in non-science based careers.

After gaining an upper second class honours BSc in Veterinary Science from the Royal Veterinary College, University of London (please note that I am not a vet), I chose to continue at the same institution to undertake my PhD in animal vision, completing my research in the Animal Welfare Research Group. Although my PhD subject was rooted in biology, it involved undergraduate level maths and a thorough grasp of physics.

Recently I have worked as an Educational Presenter, delivering curriculum-based educational animal handling workshops to children from nursery age to A levels.

I live in Clevedon with my wife (who is a vet), a cat, two rabbits and a variety of other pets. I am a volunteer Educational Speaker for Cats Protection and a member of Bristol Hackspace.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring GCSE Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics, as well as A-Level Mathematics and Biology as my main source of income since September 2015. All of my students have achieved a minimum of their predicted grade so far.

I currently present educational workshops for Cats Protection.

My most extensive teaching experience was working as an Educational Presenter, delivering curriculum-based animal handling workshops to groups of children from nursery to A Levels. I was in this career for two years and developed new material for the company to deliver, mainly for secondary school pupils.

During my PhD I tutored a small group of undergraduate students in academic skills, as well as involving myself in outreach activities with secondary school pupils and the public.

Tutoring Approach:

I enjoy providing a relaxed, but structured session when I tutor. I typically try to get the student to lead the discussion, asking relevant questions to prompt when necessary. As such I can determine the strengths and weaknesses in the student's knowledge and concentrate my effort appropriately.

With Biology tutoring I have pets who are willing to act as models, and as both of my parents are qualified secondary Maths teachers I have advice available if needed!

Qualifications:

  • Royal Veterinary College, University of London (2013) - PhD (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Royal Veterinary College, University of London (2007) - BSc (Hons) Veterinary Science (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Clevedon Maths tutor, Clevedon Physics tutor, Clevedon Chemistry tutor, Clevedon Biology tutor, Clevedon GCSE Maths tutor, Clevedon A-Level Maths tutor, Clevedon GCSE Physics tutor, Clevedon GCSE Chemistry tutor, Clevedon GCSE Biology tutor, Clevedon A-Level Biology tutor