Skip to main content

Information About Nicholas - Wimbledon tutor

Profile Picture

Nicholas's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Nicholas:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Nicholas

Personal Description:

With a fun and easy-going personality and experience using my language skills at the highest professional level, I am ideally placed to offer effective personal tuition to learners at any level.

I am an editor at a national newspaper which requires me to adhere to the strictest standards of grammar, punctuation and clarity, as well as being creative and using diverse vocabulary. I am also widely read and keen to pass on my passion for literature and the English language to others.

My Spanish language skills were honed at one of the finest language departments in the country, which I perfected during spells living in Mexico and Argentina. I previously worked for a publication specialising in the Latin American business world, which involved communicating with top executives and government officials in Spanish. Although British, I am often told by Spanish speakers that I speak Spanish with a Mexican accent which shows I have near-native levels of pronunciation. When it comes to improving grades, I believe this - along with my understanding of the British exam and education system, having gone through it myself not so long ago - gives me an advantage over native speakers who have not grown up in the UK.

As someone who has used tutors to get through exams relatively recently, I also know what makes for effective sessions and the best techniques to build confidence and make learning fun.

Tutoring Experience:

As part of my degree, I was an English language tutor at the University of the Bahia de Banderas in Mexico, where I taught adult learners grammar and conversation skills. I also received a commendation for outstanding contribution to the cultural exchange in the university, organising a film week and literature workshops. I bolstered this with a number of one-to-one private tuition cases on the side. In the UK, I have recently helped prepare an Italian student for his IELTS exams, which he passed after intensive tuition.

My Spanish tutoring experience is more limited to family and friends but they have all told me I am an excellent teacher, which is what has inspired me to sigh up for this site to establish myself more formally. I am offering highly competitive rates to bolster my experience.

Tutoring Approach:

Very relaxed, informal and patient. I believe in making sessions fun and grounded in real-life examples of putting language into action, as well as tailoring them to the level and requirements of the student. I'm quick to recognise when a lesson plan is not working and adapt accordingly.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Press Association (2015) - Multimedia Journalism (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • King's College London (2011) - Spanish with English (2:1) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Universidad Tecnologica de Bahia de Banderas (2010) - Teaching Commendation (Other) (✔ On File)

Tags: Wimbledon English tutor, Wimbledon Spanish tutor, Wimbledon Primary English tutor, Wimbledon Secondary English tutor, Wimbledon GCSE English tutor, Wimbledon A-Level English tutor, Wimbledon Casual Learner English tutor, Wimbledon Primary Spanish tutor, Wimbledon Secondary Spanish tutor, Wimbledon GCSE Spanish tutor, Wimbledon A-Level Spanish tutor, Wimbledon Casual Learner Spanish tutor