Skip to main content

Information About Niall - Thatcham tutor

Profile Picture

Niall's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Niall:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Niall offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have recently graduated from Warwick university after four years with a first in a Masters degree in Mathematics. I have always enjoyed maths and helping others to understand it better to achieve what they want in the subject is something that really interests me. Being fresh out of university means that I am still in the mindset of learning new things, tackling difficult problems and also taking exams, all of which will no doubt come in handy.

Beyond education though I would describe myself as very approachable and sociable, I find it quite easy to get along with almost anyone and pride myself on my ability to make others feel comfortable while around me. When it comes to work, I am always very dedicated and in this case I would be fully committed to helping my tutees reach their potential and achieve their goals.

Tutoring Experience:

I am currently working at Trinity School in Newbury, tutoring GCSE Maths to year 10s and 11s across a very wide range of abilities from bottom to top set as well as working with a number of students privately at both KS3 and GCSE level. My work at Trinity has given me an excellent opportunity to work with a large amount of GCSE students and provide my help through tutoring, adapting my methods to suit specific people and working to understand their needs so I can help them most effectively. Working within a school also gives me access to both the experiences of fellow teachers as well as teaching resources that could well be useful in further tutoring.

Beyond this there have been multiple occasions throughout my academic career where I have provided unofficial help to friends and other acquaintances. This ranged from helping a year 8 with key stage 3 Maths on a fairly regular basis, through to university, providing help for multiple friends studying a joint course in Maths and Physics to understand certain areas of the Maths half that they were less comfortable with.

My experience isn't the most extensive but I have always felt I was good at helping people to understand the things that they couldn't grasp beforehand, giving them new ways of approaching a problem until it makes sense. Now that I have finished my degree, with a strong knowledge of the KS3 and GCSE syllabuses, and working regularly with current GCSE students, I believe that I am in a very good position to apply myself to help even more students in the local area.

Tutoring Approach:

I would describe myself as friendly and personable and this would be reflected in my tutoring by building healthy relationships with students. Making sure that the student is happy whilst learning is probably one of the most important factors, especially for those who are struggling, and I believe I can help with that by making the time enjoyable and relaxed.

Pinpointing where people's weaknesses lie is fairly crucial and this would be my main goal, finding the issues and working to resolve them. Often students struggle not because they aren't good enough to do it, but because, especially in maths, understanding of both specific or general ideas can be lost. I would work to get to know my tutees and their way of thinking so I can tailor the learning to that but also help them view problematic areas in a new way so that it makes more sense to them.

I am available to tutor anyone in and around the Newbury area until the end of the 2018/19 academic year and would be happy to drive to them. Usually I will say that anything up to 20 minutes travel time is free but anything above and I will charge a small travelling fee.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Warwick (2018) - First MMath (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Trinity School (2014) - A-Level Further Mathematics (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Trinity School (2014) - A-Level Physics (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Trinity School (2014) - A-Level History (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Thatcham Maths tutor, Thatcham Secondary Maths tutor, Thatcham GCSE Maths tutor