Information About Ngaio - Bristol tutor


This is how 2 referees rated Ngaio:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Ngaio (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am a singer/songwriter from Bristol who has been travelling in South America for the past 6 months teaching English as a foreign language and learning Spanish. Before I went to South America I was teaching music to all levels. I can teach singing lessons as well as music theory and basic piano and saxophone.

I am also currently studying at Open University where I am building a music therapy degree which focusses on music and essay writing. I am currently writing essays every month, this keeps me immersed in academics and constantly improving my essay writing skills which I use when tutoring.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching English as a foreign language in South America for the past 6 months. I taught people who varied from basic to advanced, some of them never having spoken the language before. I have also taught those of all ages ranging from 6 to 40! I investigated their English levels before the classes and then made a plan with them (or the parents) about what to achieve in order to get the best results. I completed a TEFL course before travelling which enabled me to find teaching work very quickly.

Before that I was working as a music tutor for a year. This involved assisting in music tuition as a profession, covering lyrics writing, music writing, music theory, singing lessons, piano lessons and saxophone lessons. I have also taught music academically for those who are studying at an institution.

Over the past three years I have been working as an assistant music tutor as well as an English tutor on a flexible basis aiding those who need help with English Language and Literature. For those in an institution this surrounded working with those who needed help with essay writing as well as dissecting language and literature. I worked with a variety of ages, mainly secondary school leading up to GCSE´s. I achieved a double A* at GCSE Level, an A at A Level and am achieving a strong 2:1 average at university with all my essay based work currently.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to make each lesson interesting. Although I do have the materials to follow book work, I prefer to involve movement and practicality into each lesson to stop it becoming mundane and boring. In everything I teach I have practical, performance experience which I think is important. There is no point learning facts and not knowing how to apply them to general work/life.

I am a very friendly, approachable person, and due to this I like to make sure all my students feel comfortable and not like their being chained to a learning chair. I want my students to feel able to ask me questions about anything and feel confident in making mistakes and having the answer explored together. To me, tutoring is about team-work, I will bring all my skills to each lesson which I will prepare extensively based on the specific needs of the student.


  • South America (2014) - Casual (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • TEFL (2013) - TEFL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • St Mary Redcliffe (2006) - A Level (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Colston´s Girls´ School (2004) - GCSE (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Bristol English tutor, Bristol Spanish tutor, Bristol Music tutor, Bristol English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bristol GCSE English tutor, Bristol Primary Spanish tutor, Bristol GCSE Music tutor, Bristol Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor