Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Natasha

Natasha

I'm an English and Languages specialist. I tutor in English Literature, English Language, Creative Writing, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Latin. From 2015-2017 I held the position of Head of English at CHS (Cambridge Home School), where I was responsible for creating the syllabus for GCSE and A Level students. Since 2016 I have been an approved examiner for AQA, marking upwards of 300 English exam papers for them each summer. I have over 8 years experience in 1-1 tutoring, so I am comfortable teaching a variety of exam boards (CIE, AQA, Edexcel, OCR) and also helping more casual learners or adult learners with specific goals. I regularly tutor at degree level.

I love learning of all kinds and I hope to pass on this enthusiasm to my students. I provide a professional, yet friendly and welcoming environment where students are encouraged to learn and also to enjoy their subjects. My students often boost their grades dramatically within a few months, or achieve fluency in a language within a year.

Each person learns best in his or her own particular way, so I provide personalised lesson plans to meet the individual needs of my students.

I have been very passionate about languages since I was young. I lived in Tuscany, Italy and studied Italian there but I also have studied and taught French, German, Spanish and Latin for around 6 years.

I love reading and writing. I write short stories, essays and poetry, and Ive had several essays and poems published. I recently exhibited some of my poems as part of an exhibition in Perth, Australia.

Tutoring Experience

I have been a tutor for over 5 years and have tutored a range of subjects and students of all levels. For the past 3 years I have been teaching English online with companies in the UK, China, Russia and Japan.

I am currently the Head of English at Cambridge Home School and an approved AQA Examiner; I teach English Language and English Literature to KS3, GCSE and A Level students with an online home school platform. I am familiar with most exam boards, but particularly knowledgeable about the CIE and AQA exams. Many of my private students are university undergraduates, so I'm also able to help students with specific essay projects and exams at higher levels.

I have been teaching Modern Foreign Languages (French, Italian, German, Spanish) and Latin for over 5 years, and always have a high success rate of boosting students' grades quickly or working with adult learners to help them achieve fluency.

I am a fully qualified TEFL teacher and can teach specialisations such as Business and Academic English. I have a First Class degree in English Literature from the University of Bristol and have attended numerous language and technical writing courses. I have also worked as an editor, proofreader and a freelance writer for an academic science publication. I also write art reviews for a New York based modern art publication.

Tutoring Approach

I understand that each person learns best in his or her own particular way, so I tailor all of my classes to fit my students' interests and their particular learning style. I have comprehensive lesson plans and am able to provide feedback, so students can chart their progress over time. I offer the first lesson free of charge, so that students can have a consultation where we discuss their needs and targets in depth before we begin learning.

I make personalised lesson plans for each student, tailored towards the areas which will be most useful and interesting for them.

I try to create a harmony between fun and work in my classes, providing a variety of teaching styles and methods to keep students engaged and actively learning.

As well as teaching from my home, I have been an online tutor for several years and am comfortable teaching in an online environment. I use websites, images and video links as teaching aids.

Students must book their lessons 24 hrs in advance, and cancellations shorter than this time period will be subject to payment. This avoids scheduling problems and allows me to give equal attention to each student.

I can mark one draft of work per lesson for free, providing that the work is relevant to the tutoring session. I am able to mark further drafts of coursework, home work and essays at a rate of 20/hr.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, German, Hindi, Italian, Latin, Spanish, Urdu
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Cambridge (online)2013ProfessionalTeaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL - Distinction)
University of Bristol2012BachelorsEnglish Literature BA Hons (First Class)
Istituto Michelangelo; Florence, Italy2012OtherItalian Language
King's College, London2012OtherLatin Summer School

Natasha's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Natasha
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism