Information About Nasheed - Canonbury tutor


This is how a referee rated Nasheed:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £90.00
A-Level £90.00
University £100.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
University £100.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
GCSE £90.00
A-Level £90.00
University £100.00

Map Location

Map for Nasheed (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am an experienced and successful private tutor who offers one-on-one tutorials and mentoring.

English Literature is the primary focus of my tutoring, though I have also worked with students on University Entrance, Study Skills and Academic Writing. I work with sixth formers (doing IB, Pre-U, AS and A-Level courses), GCSE students, undergraduate and post-graduate students. I have extensive experience of home-schooling as well as weekly “top-up” tutorials.

Tutoring is not just about the results, although I recognise how important results are for university entrance and beyond; indeed, my students often exceed their own expectations and achieve the very highest grades.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked as a private tutor since completing my undergraduate degree in July 2000: first in London (through Oxford and Cambridge Tutors and independently), then independently in New York and in Paris. In 2006, I had my first experience of working with undergraduates, as a teaching assistant at Columbia University. Since returning to London, I have pursued tutoring as an adjunct to my work as a writer and director.

Each academic year, I work with about half a dozen students, whom I see for regular weekly sessions focusing on their individual needs, whatever their abilities. I also work with at least one home-schooled tutee each year. I have experience of working with dyslexic students, as well as those with other particular needs – from deafness, dyspraxia and depression to a change of schools. Nearer exam time, or as coursework deadlines loom, I tend also to see new students for a quick confidence boost or some focused revision.

In 2013, I worked with three IGCSE candidates, one IB candidate, three Pre-U candidates and two postgraduate students (at Birkbeck and SOAS respectively). 2012’s portfolio was more focused on the Pre-U side, with all my Pre-U tutees achieving D3s (A’s or above). I also do considerable amounts of university entrance work; last year this included work with a successful Cambridge Music applicant. In 2011, I worked with a Durham University undergraduate, who went on to achieve the highest first in her year, and a UCL undergraduate.

Tutoring Approach:

I seek to help my tutees find the attitudes and tools they need to maximise their potential and enjoyment as students of English Literature. I focus on nurturing productive habits when it comes to reading and writing. These include finding different ways to understand and approach questions. I aspire to share my love of literature, thinking and writing with my students while helping them, and their parents, navigate ever-changing curricula and exam board specifications.


  • Columbia University, New York (2008) - MFA Filmmaking (Directing) (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of London, Queen Mary (2002) - Critical Theory (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Oxford (2000) - English Language & Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian, Spanish, Urdu
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Canonbury English tutor, Canonbury Entrance Exams tutor, Canonbury Study Skills tutor, Canonbury GCSE English tutor, Canonbury A-Level English tutor, Canonbury University English tutor, Canonbury University Entrance Exams tutor, Canonbury GCSE Study Skills tutor, Canonbury A-Level Study Skills tutor, Canonbury University Study Skills tutor