Skip to main content

Information About Michael - Sheffield tutor

Profile Picture

Michael's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Michael:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Michael offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00£15.00
A-Level £25.00£18.75

Physics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00£15.00
A-Level £25.00£18.75

Map Location

Map for Michael (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a second year Physics PhD student at the University of Sheffield. I currently spend my time split between researching innovative solar cell materials for my thesis and teaching undergraduates within the department of Physics and Astronomy.

I completed my masters in Physics and Astronomy after studying in Sheffield for four years. I love the city and during my final year I had two successful interviews for PhDs within the University of Sheffield, so I decided to stay in academia and start doing research! My strongest skillsets are in Mathematics and Physics.

Over the first year of my PhD I spent my time split between seven universities, learning many things from the top professors in my field from Liverpool and Sheffield, to Oxford and Cambridge. I continued to regularly return to Sheffield where I would split my time between beginning research at a doctoral level and teaching undergraduates in their first and second years of University.

I am now in the second year of my PhD, where, with the use of pioneering materials, I design, make and test exciting new types of solar cells. Recently, I have had a breakthrough with a type of solar cell that has never successfully been made before in Sheffield. It is both challenging and rewarding work, which keeps me up to date with both my experiment skills and my theoretical Maths/Physics abilities. I regularly use key skills I developed in my master’s course and at maths lessons in school in order to help me solve the day to day problems that crop up during a PhD.

In addition to my qualifications, I have experience working closely with people as I spent a lot of time during and before my undergraduate working in group projects. I was the group leader in project to design an air cargo security system in my third year of university, where our completed design was considered the best in that academic year. In my last year of 6th form college I led a group of 6th form students on a yearlong project to analyse and review the structural design of a swimming pool in north Wales. I have been awarded two Nuffield Gold Crests awards for my work in the 6th form group project and an optoelectronics project I completed in the summer of 2009, where I designed a walking stick for visually impaired people which would warn them of obstacles they were approaching. Before I left my home city of Chester to go to University I had got involved in the Light Project, a local Christian led charity group, where I helped out as a temporary youth leader.

I continue to live in Sheffield, where I live with my wife. We spend our free time exploring parts of Sheffield and Yorkshire we have not yet visited, and on rarer occasion we take city breaks in countries across Europe. I like to catch up with old friends, go to gigs, read, cook and have recently started going to yoga classes at the University.

Tutoring Experience:

In addition to ongoing research, I have also spent the last year and a half teaching first and second-year undergraduate students. This involves helping them approach and solve pre-laboratory equations, and guiding them in how to use experimental equipment in the labs.

Prior to being offered a PhD, I contemplated applying for a PGCE so I volunteered at a local school for several weeks as an assistant teacher in order to build my CV. I valued experience highly and would have chased up the opportunity of a PGCE if my supervisor had not strongly encouraged me to join his research group as he believed I would make a good PhD student.

As the leader of several successful group projects, I consider myself a patient individual who is equipped with the ability to communicate complex Ideas in a clear and concise manner.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe that the approach you take with a tutee must be flexible. Everybody needs to be approached in a slightly different way in order to maximize their ability to approach a problem on their own when the exam comes around.

I would always be willing to give a general overview of the part of the syllabus that the tutee is struggling with, but at the end of the day the tutee and I must work to recognise where they feel their weakest areas are, and change that into something they feel confident they understand.

The strongest learning tool available to the tutee and I will always be past paper / text book problems, but I prefer not to encourage a tutee to simply memorize a solution. I will try my hardest to teach the tutee the answers to the question, but I also intend to teach them where the answer comes from, without overwhelming them with higher-level academic concepts.

Qualifications:

  • University of Sheffield (2014) - 2.1 Mphys Physics & Astronomy (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Upton High School 6th Form College, Chester (2010) - A in Physics (College) (✔ On File)
  • Upton High School 6th Form College, Chester (2010) - A* in Mathematics (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Sheffield Maths tutor, Sheffield Physics tutor, Sheffield GCSE Maths tutor, Sheffield A-Level Maths tutor, Sheffield GCSE Physics tutor, Sheffield A-Level Physics tutor