Information About Michael - Paddington tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Michael's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Michael:





Subjects Taught

Michael offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00£42.75
A-Level £45.00£42.75
University £45.00£42.75
Casual Learner £45.00£42.75

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
College £40.00£38.00
University £40.00£38.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£23.75
A-Level £25.00£23.75
University £25.00£23.75
Casual Learner £25.00£23.75

Map Location

Map for Michael (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a recent Oxford graduate with a first-class law degree. ~*~ I CAN HELP WITH UNDERGRAD LAW, OXBRIDGE APPS AND LAW FIRM APPLICATIONS ~*~

After university I travelled a bit, working in corporate law in Paris and in Death Row appellate work in Louisiana. I'm currently applying to be a pupil barrister in London, and in the meantime I'm tutoring to make a bit of money and because I enjoy it!

*** Please note that at present I am only available for online tutoring ***

I specialise in law tutoring. I am pretty fresh out of university, so I remember what it's like to have to get your head around difficult concepts and to deal with the stress of exams! Within law, I have studied administrative/public, commercial, constitutional, contract, criminal, EU, land, public international, Roman, tort and trust law, as well as jurisprudence. If your subject isn't listed specifically, it may well still be covered under one of these modules - please ask!

I can also help out with applications and interview prep for universities and law firms. Before I decided to become a barrister, I had a training contract lined up with a large London law firm, and I also worked for a Magic Circle firm in Paris for six months. On top of this, I have interviewed at a number of other major solicitors' firms (including Magic Circle and White Shoe US firms) and leading barristers' chambers, so I understand how to write successful applications. Since I've helped a lot of friends and friends of friends with their cover letters/CVs for various professional jobs, I am also experienced at helping others with this sort of thing.

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored to many students, especially in university-level law, on First Tutors and other platforms. I have helped students as they:

- Prepare for end-of-year exams
- Revise for crucial resits
- Need guidance on legal coursework
- Prepare their CVs and cover letters for professional job applications

I have also done work for organisations that specialise in helping students to apply to university. In all of my assignments I aim to deliver punctually and to a high standard. I also have substantial experience of helping people over the internet with university applications and personal statements, via

In my last year at university I taught English as a foreign language to immigrants to Oxford. I taught both one-on-one lessons, and to larger groups. I really enjoyed the one-to-one work especially, because in that context it's so easy to work with the student on the level that's most helpful for them, and it's satisfying to see how quickly they progress.

I helped out with a youth group for a couple of years in my hometown of Nottingham, where I worked with kids aged six to nine.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe that one of the most important qualities in a tutor is a willingness to invest in getting to know a student - their strengths and weaknesses, the methods of learning that suit them best, the right pace - and work with them as an individual. I am happy to tailor my approach to anything from a thorough walkthrough of a field's basic principles, to an in-depth theoretical discussion.

I also think that a tutor can have an impact on a student's learning that goes well beyond the time spent in the classroom. I'm always happy to suggest learning strategies and additional resources to help a student develop in a subject outside of tuition.

I am available to tutor around Oxford and London, and also in Nottingham by arrangement. I specialise in online tuition, so Skype also suits very well.


  • University of Oxford (2015) - Law (First Class) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Paddington Law tutor, Paddington Entrance Exams tutor, Paddington English (Foreign Language) tutor, Paddington GCSE Law tutor, Paddington A-Level Law tutor, Paddington University Law tutor, Paddington Casual Learner Law tutor, Paddington A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Paddington University Entrance Exams tutor, Paddington GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Paddington A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Paddington University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Paddington Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor