Skip to main content

Information About Michael - Cardiff tutor

Profile Picture

Michael's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Michael:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Michael offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

French

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

Music

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£16.00
Secondary £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

Map Location

Map for Michael (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello! I'm a Masters graduate of the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in Cardiff, playing the French horn. I also have an undergraduate degree from the University of Leeds in French & History so I can help with those subjects if required!

I'm originally from Kent but now live in Cardiff to study and hopefully to work more over the next year. I am friendly, approachable and will always try and find ways to make learning interesting, fun and engaging.

As a musician I have played with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the Welsh National Opera and a number of youth and professional development orchestras in London and Kent. At RWCMD I won the Simon Clarkson Award for Outstanding Musicianship and performed with the principal horn of the London Philharmonic, David Pyatt.

Tutoring Experience:

Freelance English tutor for Peter Clark Football Languages - tutoring a Cardiff City FC footballer English several times a week.

Educational Projects in schools - I have played in and given introductory sessions on brass instruments for pupils at Llandaff Cathedral School, Cardiff.

I have received lessons from a wide variety of professionals in one-to-one settings, coaching sessions and masterclasses.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe strongly that a tutee should really want to continue learning and enjoy the experience. Through learning an instrument myself for over a decade I understand the importance of structured and organised sessions, but I do not dictate what the tutee must learn for the entirety of the lesson. Instead, I start with aspects that need to be tackled and allow the lesson to progress from there - either tackling other aspects as we go or following on with specific exercises or methods designed to help the tutee as much as possible.

I also believe that a significant amount of learning is done outside the lessons in practice time and would always give advice to make this as useful and engaging as possible (as I know how hard it can be to practice on one's own!).

Qualifications:

  • Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama (2016) - MA Orchestral Performance (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (2014) - BA (Hons) French & History (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cardiff French tutor, Cardiff Music tutor, Cardiff English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cardiff Secondary French tutor, Cardiff Casual Learner French tutor, Cardiff Primary Music tutor, Cardiff Secondary Music tutor, Cardiff Casual Learner Music tutor, Cardiff Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor