Information About Michael - Waltham Forest tutor

Profile Picture

Michael's profile picture


Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Business Related

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Michael (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a young professional living in Walthamstow. I enjoy film, music and playing football and squash. I also enjoy visiting foreign countries and experiencing the culture and customs that they offer.

I have recently returned from Cambodia, where I spent a year and a half teaching English, supporting an NGO and working at a factory improving their social responsibility. I will be back until summer so ideal for anyone that needs intense preparation.

Tutoring Experience:

In 2008, I worked for 6 months teaching Business English to young professionals in Argentina. Most of the teaching was on a one-to-one or small group basis (maximum 3 students). I had to follow a curriculum provided by my employers but was still able to inject some creativity into the lessons which ensured my students were exposed to a variety of accents, vocabulary and sayings, as well as building on their spoken and written English.

In 2010, I worked for 3 months teaching English, Science, Maths and Social Studies in India. I taught children aged 8 - 13 and worked in an English school where they were taught in English for half of the day and Hindi the other half. Some children did not have the same level of English as their classmates and I had to work hard to ensure their English improved whilst teaching the subject matter, which could sometimes be too complex for those who did not speak English. I devised a few games that helped these students improve their vocabulary without feeling singled out.

From 2010 to 2012 I tutored Spanish, French and English to various students in London. These included KS3, KS4, University and Casual Adult learners.

Whilst in Cambodia, I taught English to students studying from Intermediate to Advance. I also ran a course on preparing for IELTS such as techniques and practise.

Tutoring Approach:

For IT tutoring, it all depends on what you are looking to learn. I am fortunate to have grown in the midst of the ‘computer generation’ and so computing is second nature to me. When teaching I ensure it is done in stages and only move on once you are fully capable of doing the task by yourself. Whether you are completely new or have used computers for many years, I feel there is always something new to learn and would be able to structure my lessons around your needs. I am extremely patient and will often provide step by step manuals so that you can keep practising once the lesson is over.

For Spanish, I speak in the target language throughout the lesson and depending on your
skills will also commentate in English so that you are not left sitting there completely blank!
For younger students I use more games, music, and popular culture to enhance their
Spanish skills, focussing on their weaknesses. I am also happy to go over their schoolwork
to ensure they fully understand, as well as help in their revision for their exams. For older
students, I would cater the lessons to what you are hoping to get out of it, whether you want
to learn Spanish for fun, whether you want conversational Spanish if you are planning a trip
there, or if you want a good grasp of the language in which case learning will be more intense and there would be a lot more grammar and writing exercises.

For teaching English as a second language, I use a lot of visuals to ensure understanding
and focus mainly on speaking and listening skills to begin with. This is later reinforced with
writing and grammar. Since there is a high chance that I do not speak the student’s first
language, I treat teaching English in a very organic way so that the steps to learning it are not forced but grow as the student’s knowledge of English grows as they are introduced to a
wider range of subject matter. For adult learners I would also offer the chance to support
them when they go to the shops, the train station, the gym, or other social occasions, so
that they can use what they have learnt in the classroom.

I always hope to offer resources for my students to use (such as CDs, DVDs and websites) and continue to learn even when I am not teaching. I also aim to build confidence in the students that can be used when learning other new things.

For any class, I am always happy to come and meet you, free of charge, to discuss your educational needs and propose how my tutoring would fulfil them. You can reach me **Telephone Number Removed** I look forward to meeting you and helping you learn something new!!


  • Academia de Recoleta (2008) - TESOL Qualification : Grade 1 (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Liverpool (2008) - 2:1 BA Hons Spanish and Business Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Waltham Forest Spanish tutor, Waltham Forest Business Related tutor, Waltham Forest Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Waltham Forest English (Foreign Language) tutor, Waltham Forest Primary Spanish tutor, Waltham Forest Secondary Spanish tutor, Waltham Forest GCSE Spanish tutor, Waltham Forest Casual Learner Spanish tutor, Waltham Forest Primary Business Related tutor, Waltham Forest Secondary Business Related tutor, Waltham Forest GCSE Business Related tutor, Waltham Forest Primary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Waltham Forest Secondary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Waltham Forest GCSE Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Waltham Forest Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Waltham Forest Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Waltham Forest Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Waltham Forest GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Waltham Forest Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor