Skip to main content

Information About Mi - Evesham tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Mi:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Italian

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Mi (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

My chief hobby is writing and I have also had professional success in this field, publishing short stories in national magazines. My favourite fictional genre is the ghost story!

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a teacher for 25 years, mostly in the primary field, but also delivering special needs to students across the four key stages. I have also taught English as a foreign language to adults in Germany.
I obtained formal qualifications for teaching dyslexics when I completed the OCR Certificate and Diploma for teaching learners with specific learning difficulties. Theses courses both required a supervised teaching practice. For the Diploma I was also required to carry out a full diagnostic assessment on a student (who happened to be key stage 3) and to write a report with recommendations.
The courses acquainted me with strategies and methods to help learners who have struggled when using conventional methods. It also introduced me to using a knowledge of speech and language to develop spelling.
On completing the Diploma I took up a post in Qatar working as a special needs teacher in a private school. There, I wrote and delivered programmes to dyslexic students and completed the testing and paperwork necessary to obtain extra time in GCSE's.

Tutoring Approach:

Every student can make progress, even those who have struggled to learn by conventional classroom methods. By finding the student's own learning style and delivering a multi-sensory programme from the level they have now reached, a solid platform for progress can be built.
Whether you need an hour or two of tuition to introduce you to some new approaches to reading and spelling and study skills, or whether you want longer term support, I can offer help to a motivated student.

Qualifications:

  • Evesham College (2003) - Diploma for Teachers of Learners with Specific Learning Difficulties (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Evesham College (2002) - OCR Diploma for Teachers of Learners with Specific Learning Difficulties (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of East Anglia (1989) - PGCE Primary Years (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Exeter University (1987) - 2.2 Greek and Roman Studies with Italian (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Evesham Maths tutor, Evesham English tutor, Evesham French tutor, Evesham Italian tutor, Evesham Special Needs tutor, Evesham Primary Maths tutor, Evesham Primary English tutor, Evesham Primary French tutor, Evesham Primary Italian tutor, Evesham Secondary Italian tutor, Evesham Primary Special Needs tutor, Evesham Secondary Special Needs tutor, Evesham GCSE Special Needs tutor, Evesham A-Level Special Needs tutor, Evesham University Special Needs tutor, Evesham Casual Learner Special Needs tutor