Skip to main content

Information About Merlyn - Enfield tutor -

Profile Picture

Merlyn's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Merlyn:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£27.00
GCSE £32.00£28.80
A-Level £35.00£31.50

Map Location

Map for Merlyn

Personal Description:

*I only have weekday availability for this academic term and for September 2018 start. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday anytime between 10AM and 1PM. I'm also available over the summer holiday.*

I have a natural aptitude for teaching, especially in one-to-one tutorials. The standard of education in my native country is extremely high, especially with regard to subjects such as mathematics, which means I am able to teach at a variety of different levels, without difficulty.

The depth of understanding I have of Maths at the present time is a result of sharing the knowledge I have. I work with each of my student's unique individuality to make Maths makes sense for them. I work with their pace and through their confusion to breakthrough each barrier they might have with every particular subject in Maths. I always encourage them to ask questions, and express any difficulties that they may have. I strive to help my student to use their full potential. I also support parents by giving them frequent feedbacks and reports. I plan and manage every lessons carefully. For students who are preparing for exams, I also act as a mentor. I prepare them for exam conditions and help them to deal with pressure.

I am very committed to my profession as a tutor and my work's ethic is based on my Christian belief; honest, reliable, and wholeheartedly.

As for my education background, my excellent knowledge and skill in Maths and Physics has allowed me to study engineering since the age of 16. I have been awarded a Bachelor Degree in Electronic System Engineering with the University of Portsmouth. I also have gained so much interest in teaching Maths through private tutoring that I have started a Bachelor Degree course in Mathematics and its Learning with the Open University.

Tutoring Experience:

Part time Maths teacher
at a local private school

Enfield based Maths Tutor
Jan 2011 - present

Mathematics & Physics Part Time Tutor for students age 13-15
B-smart study center, Jakarta Jul 2007 – Mar 2010

A private tutor giving assistance to students, on a one-to-one basis, after school hours to help with their homework and to prepare them for examinations. I also found some innovative and creative ways to deliver lessons, together with the need to understand my individual student’s personality in order to encourage and support them.

Tutoring Approach:

- I provide worksheets and other learning resources. I give homework too upon request.
- Tuition are tailored according to student personality, academic need and learning pace
- Regular test to evaluate student progress
- Resource of mock exam papers
- Regular report and feedback to parents

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Portsmouth (2013) - Degree of Bachelor of Engineering (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Enfield Maths tutor, Enfield Secondary Maths tutor, Enfield GCSE Maths tutor, Enfield A-Level Maths tutor