Skip to main content

Information About Melanie - Haringey tutor

Profile Picture

Melanie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Melanie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
University £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

French

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
University £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Melanie (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I hold an MA and MPhil in Evolutionary Anthropology from Rutgers University (USA) and a BA (Hons) from the University of Alberta (Canada). I am accustomed to tutoring for the British, American, and Canadian university systems, and I have substantial experience working with ESL students.

I tutor for:
- Academic Writing - Study Skills - Dissertation scheduling
- SATs - Biological Anthropology - Archaeology - French

Tutoring Experience:

I have over six years of experience tutoring students from a wide range of academic and cultural backgrounds, and I have practical field teaching experience in Italy and Kenya. I taught formally within the American post-secondary system for over five years, and am currently a private tutor based in London, specialising in a range of subjects (listed above).

I am fluent in French and am accustomed to working with students who are non-native English speakers. I use the broad range of subjects I have taught to provide my students with in-depth, relevant education in their field.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a dedicated and imaginative tutor, and I work to build my students confidence in their knowledge and abilities. I want my students to enjoy what they learn, and I use creative, hands-on exercises to let them put their skills into practice. I am enthusiastic about my subject matter, and my students always complimented me on my ability to explain complex information in a clear and engaging way.

I enjoy personal interaction with my students, and have great success with both individual sessions and small-group tutoring. My students always see tremendous progress when they work with me, and I have a very flexible teaching style that allows me to teach to their strengths and interests.

Qualifications:

  • Rutgers University (2014) - Distinction MPhil Evolutionary Anthropology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Rutgers University (2010) - Distinction MA Evolutionary Anthropology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Alberta (2002) - First BA (Hons) Anthropology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, English (American), English (Canadian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Haringey English tutor, Haringey French tutor, Haringey Study Skills tutor, Haringey University English tutor, Haringey Casual Learner English tutor, Haringey Casual Learner French tutor, Haringey University Study Skills tutor, Haringey Casual Learner Study Skills tutor