Skip to main content

Information About Melanie - Lowestoft tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Melanie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Melanie

Personal Description:

I am a friendly outgoing personality. I live in Lowestoft and work in Beccles.
I enjoy keeping fit, gardening and time spent with friends and family.
I am part of a group of beach cleaners who clear plastic from our local beaches. I have three grown up sons and I am very proud of them.

I was a maths tutor when my children were small but then had to stop due to full time work and family commitments. I now have a bit more time again so would love to take this up again.
Sunday or Monday early evening would suit me best but I am reasonably flexible about this.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught GCSE and KS3 maths since 1990. I get consistently excellent results and specialise in students who find maths tricky and struggle to get their GCSE.
My current year 11 group are mostly borderline grade 3 to 4 and so I have plenty of current experience in getting students through the new specification to the required level.
I teach the Edexcel specification but the different exam boards have a broadly similar specification so it would not be an issue to coach for a different exam board GCSE.

I also currently coach a group of students who a studying for Further maths GCSE so am adept at higher level maths as well.

My teaching groups are a mixture of top sets and lower sets so I would be happy to be a tutor at any level of high school student.

Tutoring Approach:

I Taylor my approach based upon the individual needs of the student. I am very much of the belief that confidence and small successes are the place to start building more confidence and GCSE successs.
I am very good at spotting misunderstandings and reshaping teaching so that the student gets a good understanding of the concepts. I am of the belief that if a student does not understand, it is my fault for not explaining it in a clear enough way and not their fault.
Everyone is individual and there are many different ways of understanding a concept. With my many years of experience at different levels of ability, I have a great deal of expertise at finding ways to help students understand what they previously found impossible and I take great delight in doing this.
I love teaching and am an excellent tutor.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • London university (1984) - Bsc degree maths (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Lowestoft Maths tutor, Lowestoft Secondary Maths tutor, Lowestoft GCSE Maths tutor