Skip to main content

Information About Melanie - Poole tutor

Profile Picture

Melanie's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Melanie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00

Map Location

Map for Melanie

Personal Description:

I am a calm and creative qualified class teacher and specialist teacher of children with specific learning differences. I am warm, friendly, organised and passionate in my support of children’s learning. I love learning myself and have continued developing my knowledge, understanding and skills throughout my teaching career. By putting myself out of my comfort zone and taking on learning challenges outside of teaching, I really can empathise with children when at times they feel out of their depth, self-conscious about making mistakes, or simply when they need an alternative way of learning. This, together with a good sense of humour and having my own family, has a direct impact on the way I interact with and encourage children to learn.
I have a dedicated teaching space at home and find children like knowing that this is a place and time for learning and having resources to hand makes it easier for me to respond to a child's learning needs. Should you have a particular request that I come to you, or to another location then please just ask and if it seems feasible we can work that out. Thank you.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a teacher who specialises in children rather than subjects. I have taught classes, groups and individuals both in the UK and overseas in Hong Kong and Singapore. My roles have included being a class teacher, dyslexia specialist, EFL teacher, Special Educational Needs Coordinator, one- to-one tutor and mentor. It has been a combination of gaining new knowledge, honing my skills and the invaluable experience gained through meeting so many children with their own personalities, interests and abilities that has enriched me as a teacher.

Up until recently, when I moved from Surrey to Dorset, I was a full-time teacher. I am now tutoring from home and really enjoy being able to plan learning on an individual basis.

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring is a special time, during which I offer a secure and encouraging environment, in which children feel able to learn without pressure, where they become more confident, learn to challenge themselves and feel a sense of pride in their achievements. The sessions are designed to build on what a child knows, taking into account their interests and concentration times. Learning takes place inside and outside, at a desk, on the computer or on the floor- it’s flexible, but appropriate to what is needed.

Each lesson planned is for a particular child at a particular time. Plans do change though and I will adapt a plan or try a different approach or subject in order to re-engage a child, or at a parent’s request.

If you think my qualifications, experience and approach may work then please do contact me with any further questions.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Bournemouth and Poole College (2017) - Level 3 Counselling Skills (College) (✔ On File)
  • Dyslexia Action (2014) - Level 5 Developing Mathematical Skills in Learners with Dyslexia (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre (2000) - Diploma for Teachers of Learners with Specific Learning Difficulties (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Roehampton (1987) - B Ed (Hons) Education and Environmental Studies (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Poole Maths tutor, Poole English tutor, Poole Special Needs tutor, Poole English (Foreign Language) tutor, Poole Primary Maths tutor, Poole Primary English tutor, Poole Primary Special Needs tutor, Poole Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor