Skip to main content

Information About Meggie - Loughborough tutor

Profile Picture

Meggie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Meggie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Meggie offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Meggie

Personal Description:

I have always wanted to teach and work with children and tutoring in a boarding school in New Zealand for the past year has helped me to confirm this passion. I studied Maths and Further Maths at A-Level. Currently I am a Maths undergraduate going into my final year after having taken a placement year in teaching, averaging 82% in my second year exams. I am a caring and compassionate person with the desire to help young people achieve their potential in Maths.

Tutoring Experience:

For the past year I have been an academic and boarding house tutor in a secondary school in New Zealand. Over this time I have developed a great understanding of the needs and demands of the 11-18 year old age group, especially whilst working closely with the SENCO department. During my time there I had the chance to plan lessons and teach my own Year 9 Maths Class and this has taught me the importance of planning activities in advance but also how to adapt for the different personalities and abilities of each child. Tutoring the girls in the boarding house during evening duties allowed me to work closely with students on specific content of the curriculum and work with the students on a personal level. On many occasions I have had to think on my feet which is the sort of challenge I love. I have had work experience in many schools across Derbyshire, working closely with the children for a week at a time. In addition to this I have had the chance to participate in the governmental scheme know as "Number Partners" once a week at Stonebow Primary School in Loughborough, working closely with two children at a time from year 4 to help to improve and develop their Maths skills and knowledge. There is nothing better than seeing the delight on a child's face when the understanding is achieved.

Tutoring Approach:

I come from a background of teaching with my mum being a school teacher so I have access to the current curriculum. Firstly I would arrange an initial meeting to get to know you and your child and assess the weaknesses and strengths of your child's Mathematical knowledge and skills. I can then go away and plan the appropriate lessons, working on the key aspects of Maths that your child struggles with or would like to improve on. I am very willing to adapt my teaching style to suit the individual and have a lot of patience so I would ensure the concept is well and truly understood before moving on. I will use lots of different ways to present a mathematical concept so no two lessons are the same in order to maintain full engagement and hopefully enjoyment from the children I teach.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Trent College (2015) - Maths A-Level - Grade A (College) (✔ On File)
  • Trent College (2015) - Further Maths A-Level - Grade A (College) (✔ On File)
  • Trent College (2015) - Design and Technology A-Level - Grade A* (College) (✔ On File)
  • Trent College (2013) - Maths GCSE - Grade A* (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Loughborough Maths tutor, Loughborough Secondary Maths tutor, Loughborough GCSE Maths tutor, Loughborough A-Level Maths tutor