Information About Elizabeth - Holland Park tutor

Profile Picture

Elizabeth's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Elizabeth:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£22.50
Secondary £30.00£27.00
GCSE £30.00£27.00
Casual Learner £30.00£27.00

Map Location

Map for Elizabeth (Miss)


Personal Description:

English & French graduate with experience teaching Modern Languages both to small groups in schools and as a personal tutor on a one-to-one basis.
I'm currently doing a Journalism MA at City University, I'd like to use my spare time to continue my teaching of both French and English.

Tutoring Experience:

English Language Assistant (10/13- 04/14)

I worked in a French lycée (equivalent to college/A-Level) during my Year Abroad in France. My responsibilities included:

- Teaching English to 15-19 year-old French students. Group sizes varied from one-to-one to up to 20 students
- Created lesson plans, adapting activities and aims for each class depending on ability levels
- Prepared students for exams by going through past papers with them and doing mock oral exams, giving feedback afterwards. This meant familiarising myself with the curriculum and ensuring that all required knowledge was covered
- Provided the students with English publications (magazines, newspapers). This was a great way of boosting they motivation to learn English!

English tutor for French tutees (11/13- 04/14)

I also had two personal tutoring jobs during my Year Abroad, one with a 28 year-old Italian woman and the other a six year-old French girl. I saw them each once a week for two hours. This work entailed:

- Planning the sessions in detail to make them interesting and engaging
- Devising and providing activities where necessary
- Asking the tutees/the tutee's parents what they want me to teach and ensuring that I achieve this

Assisting French lessons in an English school as part of the University Ambassadors Scheme (2/13- 5/13)

In my second year of university, I spent four hours per week in a local secondary school assisting French classes. This entailed:

- Taking small groups of students and completing activities with them to help them improve their English
- Doing both GCSE and A-Level revision oral preparation with students in the lead-up to their exams
- Devising a card game to the students improve their vocabulary knowledge (it was a great success, and I still have the cards!)

Tutoring Approach:

The manner in which I teach is dependent on the student or tutee, but I always try to avoid making it mechanical or boring. I find that bringing magazines or books in the target language into the session really helps to engage students as it shows how the language can be applied to real life.
I also know how important it is to follow the marking syllabus when it comes to GCSE or A-Level students (having completed them myself not too long ago!), so am willing to put a lot of time into getting to know the syllabus down to a T.
I believe that it's very important for the student or tutee to feel comfortable with their tutor, so I like to keep a fairly relaxed tone in sessions. This tends to make the teaching more effective.


  • University of Southampton (2015) - English & French (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Radcliffe School (2011) - French (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Holland Park French tutor, Holland Park Primary French tutor, Holland Park Secondary French tutor, Holland Park GCSE French tutor, Holland Park Casual Learner French tutor