Skip to main content

Information About Maxine - Barnsley tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Maxine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have two children aged 14 and 19, my eldest having just gone off to university. I also have a dog which also keeps me very busy. In my spare time I like reading, going to the theatre and concerts, cooking and of course walking my dog.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a primary school teacher with over twenty years experience in both key stages one and two. I started my career in London and moved back to Barnsley ( my home town) in 2001 as well as working in Roamnia teaching English, therefore I have gained a wide range of very different experiences over the course of my career. My specialisms are in the teaching of reading, writing and maths and I have a range of experience teaching children with special educational needs.

Tutoring Approach:

I feel that children work best in a positive and relaxed atmosphere where progress is praised and celebrated in order for chiildren to build confidence within themselves. My lessons are planned with the needs of the individual child in mind allowing me to develop lessons which are individually tailored.I adopt a wide range of strategies in my approach to learning, again depending on the subject being taught and the needs and interests of the child.I feel it is important to get to know what their interests and abilities are in order to plan lessons which will inspire tehm. I use a range of resources and techniques which often include the use of games and ICT as well as more formal methods. I feel that learning should be fun whilst still maintaining high expectations of the child so that they can make good progress.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Chester (1993) - B.ED (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Barnsley English tutor, Barnsley Primary English tutor