Skip to main content

Information About Max - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Max's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Max:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Max

Personal Description:

Hi! I'm a graduate of History at The University of Edinburgh, focussing largely on the role of culture both in how it influenced society and politics, and on how it can be used by the historian to understand the past. History has long been my passion, and as such I have a broad reaching experience of the field, however I have largely focussed on modern history in recent years. I am more than happy to teach history at any educational level, and to anyone with a more casual interest. I also graduated the International Baccalaureate Diploma, and as such am experienced with the unique requirements of the course and am more than happy to teach them.
Outside of academia I have had a long-running love for the outdoors, and spend plenty of time exploring the highlands, both in a kayak, on foot, and I climb plenty too.
I am more than willing to travel within the Edinburgh area, and am happy to teach through **Contact Detail Removed** also.

Tutoring Experience:

I have for three years taught archery in my summer breaks to children of a broad age range for a variety of often disadvantaged or otherwise difficult backgrounds, often with learning difficulties. Over these summers I also taught children with a broad range of disabilities, so I already have plenty of experience adapting lessons and teaching to ensure that whoever I'm teaching gets the best learning experience that they can. I have also worked towards a sports leadership qualification while studying the International Baccalaureate, and informally coached kayakers as part of my university club's committee.
I have also supported younger members of my family and community in their schooling, as well as finding ways to make history interesting and engaging to the children I worked with on camp as a bedtime story, and a way to keep them entertained during lull periods in the day.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe in a student guided approach to learning, with the tutor facilitating and supporting the learner in developing their knowledge. This is an approach guided by my prior experiences teaching, where I discovered that students learn best when the learning is shaped around them as much as possible. As such, my methods will vary as according to the student's needs, and they will be encouraged to apply their own thought and thought processes as much as possible, rather than 'spoon feeding' them the information.
Of course, there is a place for tailoring learning to meet exam specifications, and of course, with a student approaching an examination I will carefully guide teaching to ensure that the student can squeeze every mark they can from the exam.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of Edinburgh (2017) - MA (hons) History (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh English tutor, Edinburgh History tutor, Edinburgh English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh Primary English tutor, Edinburgh Secondary English tutor, Edinburgh GCSE English tutor, Edinburgh A-Level English tutor, Edinburgh Primary History tutor, Edinburgh Secondary History tutor, Edinburgh GCSE History tutor, Edinburgh A-Level History tutor, Edinburgh University History tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner History tutor, Edinburgh Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor