Skip to main content

Information About Maurice - Hove tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Maurice's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Maurice:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

German

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Maurice (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a bilingual English-German masters student at the University of Sussex.

I am 23 and have over four years' experience tutoring German, English and French.

I grew up in the U.K. In a German-speaking household, as a consequence I am fluent and have a native accent. I frequently visit relatives in Germany which keeps my knowledge of the language up to date.

I have also studied in Germany at the University of Heidelberg, where I took courses in German literature and philosophy.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring part-time for over four years in various subjects, primarily German, but also English literature, French and History.

I have tutored through a number of schemes, including volunteering through local community programs and offering private tuition.

I have mainly taught school age pupils, but have also had adult students. I welcome learners of all ages and abilities.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is practical and adaptive.

I check whether the student has any particular areas of the syllabus or language they wish to focus on in particular, for example tenses, pronunciation, listening comprehension, etc. If yes, I will give extra attention to these areas.

My lessons are structured and involve a variety of exercises. I train all four aspects of language ability: speaking, listening, reading and writing.

I prepare passages for reading comprehension suitable to the student's level as well as vocabulary lists relevant to what the student is studying in school. I also use exam board textbooks to prepare the students for class tests and the final exams. During the lesson I work with the student on pronunciation: new words are spoken aloud, and we engage in conversation to practice new phrases.

I am happy to teach the grammatical rules, but equally happy to use phrase-based learning for students who prefer to learn by practice rather than theory.

In general I place emphasis on practice and repetition, and I often go over material we did the previous week to consolidate learning.

Qualifications:

  • Durham University (2015) - 1st. English Literature (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The Manchester Grammar School (2012) - A-levels (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hove English tutor, Hove German tutor, Hove Primary English tutor, Hove Secondary English tutor, Hove GCSE English tutor, Hove A-Level English tutor, Hove University English tutor, Hove Casual Learner English tutor, Hove Primary German tutor, Hove Secondary German tutor, Hove GCSE German tutor, Hove A-Level German tutor, Hove University German tutor, Hove Casual Learner German tutor