Skip to main content

Information About Matthew - Exeter tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Matthew's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Matthew:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Matthew (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a fully qualified maths teacher, and a highly experienced tutor. And Ex cambridge graduate, after completing a PCSE in maths, I taught in schools in staffordshire and Oxfordshire before moving to exeter an becoming a full time maths tutor, which I have been for the best part of seventeen years, with great success. My specialism is making that extra difference to grades, changings D into B's and C into A's.

Tutoring Experience:

I have PGCE (Cert Maths), from Keele university, and have taught in schools in staffordshire and oxford. My main specialism is though teaching in small classes and tailoring what I teach to what a small group actually needs, and one can be done at the one to one level.

Tutoring Approach:

I pride myself on a threefold approach. Firstly maths tutoring is of course all about listening to the pupil and working out both exactly what they needs to learn, and how one should teach it. Secondly based on my my many years of experience I know what tends to slip in class room teaching and how that slip can effect learning elsewhere, allowing me to tackle problems any problems in maths at the root, and so making the entire process much easier. Finally, I place lot of emphasis on how one reads maths questions and tackles actual problems. As a maths teacher one all too frequently encounters pupils whose maths is fine, and it is their reading of question (which often seem that they are written in a language of their own), that is the issue. I am therefore very experience in showing how the maths one knows relates to the question one is actually asked. The importance of this cannot be over emphasised - the difference between an A and a B grade is a difference in ones ability to read the question and find its meaning - and then how one does it under pressure… I am also (in another life) a storyteller,performer and philosopher , and use a lot of storytelling,funny **Web Address Removed**, memorable facts from the history of maths, as very much part on my teaching practice.

Qualifications:

  • Keele (1992) - PCSE (Cert maths) (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge (1990) - Ba (Hons) Canatb (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Exeter Maths tutor, Exeter Primary Maths tutor, Exeter Secondary Maths tutor, Exeter GCSE Maths tutor, Exeter A-Level Maths tutor, Exeter Casual Learner Maths tutor