Skip to main content

Information About Matthew - Bristol tutor

Profile Picture

Matthew's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Matthew:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

German

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Matthew (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a passionate linguist and love sharing this passion with others. I was first inspired to study languages by my GCSE German teacher. I went on to study German at A Level and was then able to read Spanish ab initio at university. The thing I relish the most about languages is that you never stop learning. I am continually finding out new words, expressions and structures and find teaching and tutoring allows me to grow as a linguist alongside my tutees.

Tutoring Experience:

After graduating from University of Wales Swansea, I began my PGCE at the University of Bristol. I worked in various schools, including one of the best all boys grammar schools in the country. I have experience of working with learners of varying abilities and levels and of various examination boards. I had a very successful career in teaching and was Head of Department for two years and was in leadership roles for a further two. I am currently having a break from teaching to pursue other opportunities available to me, however, I would love to continue to help others to learn languages.

Tutoring Approach:

As an experienced teacher, I am well versed in various techniques to help language learners of all abilities. I believe in getting to know the individual and reacting to their own needs. I have a variety of resources which help bring languages to life. As a English native, I understand the difficulties learners of German and Spanish face and openly share these with my tutees. However, my experience allows me to come up with practical ways to overcome these.

Qualifications:

  • University of Bristol (2008) - MFL (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Wales, Swansea (2006) - German and Spanish (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Universitaet Wuerzurgs (2005) - DSH Pruefung (Other) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Bristol German tutor, Bristol Spanish tutor, Bristol Primary German tutor, Bristol Secondary German tutor, Bristol GCSE German tutor, Bristol A-Level German tutor, Bristol Casual Learner German tutor, Bristol Primary Spanish tutor, Bristol Secondary Spanish tutor, Bristol GCSE Spanish tutor, Bristol A-Level Spanish tutor, Bristol Casual Learner Spanish tutor