Skip to main content

Information About Matthew - Stockport tutor

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Matthew (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hi there, my name`s Matt. I've been teaching English as a second language since January 2010 and I've loved every minute of it! I took my TEFL course in Florence, Italy and I went on to teach in New Zealand for over two years. While I was there I worked with six different institutions, where I held classes from beginner to advanced. I concentrated on teaching general English and skills practice. I'm now in Tokyo teaching private classes. Languages are my passion. I studied French and Italian while I was at university and now I'm studying Japanese. I also plan to go to South America and study Spanish in the future. I have been able to take all this foreign language learning and incorporate it into my teaching methods. I always great my students with a smile and try to create the most relaxed atmosphere as possible in my lessons. I teach through context, whether this be discussing recent news stories or creating role plays for practical use. I designed my own curriculum whilst in New Zealand as I found constantly following text books boring at times. I created many fun, interactive activities for my students to use. My goal is to try to help students learn vocabulary and grammar efficiently but in the most fun way possible. I'm coming back to teach in Manchester in July.

Tutoring Experience:

2.5 years of ESL tutoring. I taught ESL in New Zealand for 2 years in 6 different institutions. This was classroom teaching of general English, and I had students of many ages and nationalities. I also taught skills practice and I had the experience of holding classes from beginner to advanced. I helped develop the curriculum at A.W.I. International (Auckland, New Zealand), where I taught full-time for a year and half. In this time I produced many of my own resources, so I have a lot my own materials and useful methods to teaching English. I have been teaching one to one lessons in Tokyo, Japan since January 2012, so I know how to run group activities as well as how to engage students in private lessons.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a very friendly approach with my students. I pride myself with social skills and I try to keep my students as relaxed as possible. I think teaching through context is the best way forward. I learn about my students’ interests and hobbies, and so I can teach through examples of something that relates to them.

Qualifications:

  • The Learning Centre of Tuscany (2009) - T.E.F.L. International (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • The University of Sheffield (2009) - French Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Loreto 6th form College (2004) - A level (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Barlow R.C. High School (2002) - G.C.S.E. (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Stockport French tutor, Stockport English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stockport Primary French tutor, Stockport Secondary French tutor, Stockport GCSE French tutor, Stockport University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stockport Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor