Information About Matthew - Eastbourne tutor


This is how 2 referees rated Matthew:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Matthew (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am an experienced classroom teacher with with an Economics degree from the University of Durham. Alongside my classroom teaching I run a revision website for students and have produced a range of resources, both for the use of my own students and professionally published. I have also marked for the AQA exam board.

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced secondary school teacher and I have taught in some of Britain's top independent schools. Subjects I have taught include Economics, Business Studies and Religious Studies at both GCSE and A-Level.

I have experience of private tutoring in small groups and individually. I have prepared students and published resources for all the major examination boards, but with my current availability I can only offer tutoring for AQA students.

Having just published a guide to the mathematical skills in the new Economics AS/A-Level course, I am particularly well placed to help students gain confidence in this new and often daunting aspect of the course.

Tutoring Approach:

As a classroom teacher I am experienced in teaching students with a wide range of academic ability, from A* standard to those for whom a D grade represents a significant achievement, and as a qualified outward bound instructor I am also experienced at engaging students who are less comfortable with academic study and I am able to bring this experience to my tutoring.

My tuition is tailored to the individual student, aiming to challenge the most able and build the confidence of students who find academic study comes less naturally.

I offer a sliding fee system. The £35 per hour headline rate is for bookings totalling more than 6 hours, bookings totalling less than 6 hours are charged at £40 per hour. Single sessions of 2 hours or less are charged at £45 per hour.

Tuition is mostly from my own home but I may be able to travel. This is by individual arrangement. I do not charge for my mileage but do charge for my time.

Please Note: As a full time teacher I have very limited availability in term time. I mainly specialise in intensive holiday interventions but may be able to offer a few lessons in term time if you wish.


  • University of Durham (2007) - BA Economics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Eastbourne Economics tutor, Eastbourne GCSE Economics tutor, Eastbourne A-Level Economics tutor