Skip to main content

Information About Matthew - Oxford tutor

Profile Picture

Matthew's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Matthew:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Matthew offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Biology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£22.50
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £30.00£27.00
A-Level £35.00£31.50
University £40.00£36.00
Casual Learner £35.00£31.50

Map Location

Map for Matthew (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a second year PhD student at the University of Oxford studying neuroscience. I am from a small town in Surrey and attended a private school in Weybridge called St Georges College. I graduated from the University of Nottingham and was awarded a Bachelor of Science with honours (B.Sc hons) in Biochemistry and Genetics. Following this, I went on to study for a Masters of research (MRes) degree in neuroscience at UCL. I love playing sport (especially rugby!!) and play for the University team. I also am a bit of a foodie and love to cook and visit restaurants.

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored a number of individuals in biology during my undergraduate degree and have attended teaching skills courses at the University of Oxford. In addition, I currently tutor a number of International students overseas via Skype. Therefore I am happy to arrange this for any student wishing to avoid traveling and can study within the comfort of their own home. In addition, I have also helped coaching boys rugby and girls netball at school so have developed great interpersonal skills with girls and boys of all ages.

Tutoring Approach:

I attempt to tailor my tuition and lesson plans to suit each individual. Reflecting on my own personal struggles as a young student at school and during my first degree, I have the utmost respect for a student's individuality and personal needs. I will follow the syllabus closely to ensure topics are covered efficiently and no time is wasted on irrelevant material.

I am happy to set up a recurring day and time or organise each tutorial on a weekly basis. I can also offer short-term, high-intensity tutoring for last minute exam revision if required.

Qualifications:

  • The University of Oxford (2017) - Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • UCL (2013) - Neuroscience (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • The University of Nottingham (2012) - Biochemistry and Genetics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oxford Biology tutor, Oxford Primary Biology tutor, Oxford Secondary Biology tutor, Oxford GCSE Biology tutor, Oxford A-Level Biology tutor, Oxford University Biology tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Biology tutor