Skip to main content

Information About Mary - Colchester tutor -
(2 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Mary:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £27.00
Secondary £27.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £27.00

Map Location

Map for Mary (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I have a degree in Psychology, ane use some of the skills I learned with regard to this in my teaching. I understand that children can easily loose self-esteem in their learning, and do all that I can to eliminate this, quickly setting them on a path to success and self confidence, regardless of their starting point. I feel it is very important for children to achieve their potential, and am passionate regarding helping them in this regard. I look forward to helping children work in Maths, Reading and Verbal Reasoning from Early Years to 11+ level.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught years 3 and 4 in a variety of Primary schools for 15 years, teaching children with abilities ranging from Year 1 to Year 5 within those year groups. I was assessed by Ofsted in ten lessons, 50% at "Good" and 50% at "Very Good" gradings. The Lead Inspector commented on my "meticulous planning; good, humorous relationships with the children; and excellent generic skills." I have very much enjoyed working individually with two tutees recently, teaching Maths, English and Verbal Reasoning.

Tutoring Approach:

I am very enthusiastic and sensitive: committed to helping children achieve their potential. As such, I assess children carefully so that they are always experiencing success. As a result, they make very good progress, and therefore grow greatly in confidence and enthusiasm. I work for short bursts on a particular skills, often using games; balanced with longer periods to sustain the childrens' interest.

Qualifications:

  • P.G.C.E. Primary
  • B.A. Psychology
  • 'H' English, French, History and Chemistry (Scotland)
  • 'O' English, Maths, Arithmetic, French, Italian, History and Chemistry
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Colchester Maths tutor, Colchester English tutor, Colchester Primary Maths tutor, Colchester Secondary Maths tutor, Colchester Primary English tutor