Information About Mary - West Drayton tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Mary's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Mary:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £10.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £10.00

Map Location

Map for Mary (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am a private tutor who has been working in this industry for nine years. My first experience of teaching came as a Master student where I had to teach a compulsory number of hours as a part of my own studies. Having developed an interest in teaching, I decided to join a tuition agency and teach in my spare time. However, I very quickly saw many weaknesses and limitations within the private tuition format and I felt that I could deliver better results for my students and their parents, whilst ensuring the student picked up skills which they could apply to all their subjects and not just the ones for which they were receiving tutoring. Over the years I have progressed into professional life, however, I am still very passionate about learning and teaching how to learn, my core subjects are Maths and English.

Tutoring Experience:

I am level 2 qualified in numeracy and literacy and have NVQ level 3 in supporting teaching and learning with 9 years’ experience of group and one to one tutoring of children between the ages of 3-12 year. I am very flexible with my time and can provide a service for 2 hours a day. I am also available on weekends I have enough knowledge of EYFS and National Curriculum to support children learning.

Tutoring Approach:

I take a rather informal approach to teaching in the sense, I expect students to address me by my first name and feel comfortable enough to be able to say 'I don't get it' and where necessary 'I still don't get it'. I feel this level of informalness breeds an open exchange where students do not feel shy, anxious or even frightened of 'getting it wrong in the pursuit of getting it right'. I believe some of the most memorable ways of learning is to create varied learning exercises incuding mindmaps to aid memory, verbal learning and testing, to aid confidence and more structured lessons to aid full syllabus coverage. Nonetheless. there is a formal element to my teaching, which is that there is always a homework expectation, this is very necessary to ensure that what is learnt, gets the opportunity to be practised and tested.
I am quite an energetic person and most of my current students describe me as someone they can talk to on their level. I think this helps generate mutual respect.


  • Hillingdon adult center (2013) - NVQ level 3 (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Hillingdon adult center (2012) - Level 2 in supporting teaching (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Pakistan (2006) - A+ (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Hindi, Urdu
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: West Drayton Maths tutor, West Drayton English tutor, West Drayton Primary Maths tutor, West Drayton Primary English tutor