Information About Mary - Taunton tutor

Profile Picture

Mary's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Mary:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Craft and Design

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Mary (Mrs)


Personal Description:

Mary-Jane is 51 years old and has recently left the teaching profession for a self-employed approach, undertaking private tutoring and supporting several schools for periods of teacher absence. She also has her own dressmaking business. Mary-Jane has two grown up children, with one at masters and one at doctorate level in Psychology. Therefore, she is acutely aware of the pressures and worries of students during their academic career and has developed a range of tools to support them. Mary-Jane has a clear and up-to-date DBS records check and is a registered supply teacher with Somerset County Council.

Tutoring Experience:

Mary-Jane is an experienced Secondary Science Teacher and Class Tutor of 11 years. During this time she has worked as Second and Head of department as well as The Science Coordinator for BTEC and STEM. She has provided one-to-one and group revision sessions throughout her teaching career as well as expert teaching and exam practise techniques. Mary-Jane has taught in a very busy classroom environment and understands the challenges that students face in large classes, particularly in Science.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a warm friendly but firm approach. A strength that I have always been attributed to is my empathy with the students and positive relationships. In tutoring, I aim to make learning fun and to boost the learner's confidence. I like to develop their exam and revision toolkit as well as their subject knowledge. The current science curriculum has placed new emphasis on the application of knowledge rather than merely recalling the facts and this is where students need that extra confidence to boost their grades. I can also offer sewing machine and pattern cutting tutorials to adults and casual learners. I may charge for travel outside of TA1 and TA2.


  • University of Exeter (2002) - PGCE in Science teaching (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Open University (2000) - BSc Degree (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Taunton Physics tutor, Taunton Chemistry tutor, Taunton Biology tutor, Taunton Craft and Design tutor, Taunton Secondary Physics tutor, Taunton Casual Learner Physics tutor, Taunton Secondary Chemistry tutor, Taunton GCSE Chemistry tutor, Taunton Casual Learner Chemistry tutor, Taunton Secondary Biology tutor, Taunton GCSE Biology tutor, Taunton Casual Learner Biology tutor, Taunton Casual Learner Craft and Design tutor