Skip to main content

Information About Martin - Chiswick tutor

Profile Picture

Martin's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Martin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Martin offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

German

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Martin (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am an Oxford graduate who spent most of his career working in the Civil Service, where I reached a senior grade. I took early retirement but that didn't mean I wanted to stop working. I spent an interesting couple of years developing property and then decided to return to the love of my life, which is languages. I trained to teach English as a foreign language, obtained the Cambridge Celta qualification and have found a whole new lease of life teaching on a freelance basis at a number of schools in SW London.In addition to General English, I teach quite a lot of Business English. I also do a lot of private tuition, as the school rates me highly for this.

Meanwhile I had always developed my knowledge of German, studying at the Goethe Institute.I have the Kleines Deutsches Sprachdiplom (near native standard). I have maintained my knowledge by wide reading and through visits to and from several German friends.I have recently begun to give private tuition in German getting positive feedback.

I am serious about my subjects but nevertheless have a good sense of humour. I am an enthusiastic person and like my students to be so too.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught English as a foreign language (EFL) for five years. I teach a mixture of General English and Business English. A significant proportion of teaching hours is spent giving private tuition either for Cambridge exams or to help European students with their Abitur/Matura.

I have recently begun giving private lessons in German.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to work in partnership with the student. The fundamental thing is to find out exactly what the student needs and then to help him or her to learn. The aim is to assist students to discover as much as possible for themselves and to share the process with them. While my emphasis is on the communicative approach, I do believe there is still a role from time to time for a bit of old-fashioned "chalk and talk". As in most things it is a question of balance and being willing to adapt to circumstances.

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (2008) - CELTA (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Goethe Institut Munich (2007) - Kleines Deutsches Sprachdiplom (German) (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Oxford University (1970) - BA Honours (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chiswick German tutor, Chiswick English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick Secondary German tutor, Chiswick GCSE German tutor, Chiswick Casual Learner German tutor, Chiswick A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor