Skip to main content

Information About Mark - Matlock tutor

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00

Map Location

Map for Mark (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I studied Mathematical Sciences at degree level and then worked in the software industry for many years as a programmer. I moved into teaching in 2003 and since then have taught maths to secondary pupils and adults. I have also taught IT and ICT at level 2 and A-level. I am a patient teacher who tries to teach through understanding rather than "parrot fashion". I ride a motorbike and have had various other jobs over the years which has allowed me to experience a wide variety of careers.

Tutoring Experience:

GCSE maths: 11 - 16 year olds in secondary education, adults in evening classes, have also tutored privately.

Tutoring Approach:

Before a can teach an individual I like to assess their skills first. This would be done in an appropriate fashion depending on the pupil. I like "hands-on" exercises which allow the pupil to discover the learning outcome rather than simply trying to force it on the pupil. I have built up a collection of techniques over the years which I try to improve on and develop. I have also taught parents modern techniques to allow the to understand the current methods.

Qualifications:

  • Chesterfield College (2010) - PTTLS (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Chesterfield College (2006) - Numeracy Specialist (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Middlesborough (1999) - Mathematical Sciences (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Matlock Maths tutor, Matlock Secondary Maths tutor