Information About Mark - Whitchurch tutor -
(2 reviews)


This is how 4 referees rated Mark:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Mark (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am 47 year old, married with 2 kids. I am self employed. Work in children's entertainment as well as tutoring. Occasionally do supply teaching. Prefer to teach at home though will travel (£5 extra in the north Cardiff area) Can teach most evenings, weekend mornings, and school holidays.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring for 2/3 years currently have 6 students (Mostly GCSE English) and have successfully got all previous students through exams (better grades than expected) or passed on retakes when referred to me. I have also tutored KS2 and KS3 pupils as well as a dyslexic student. Previously i have tutored EFL (Business English).
I have 8 years experience teaching in secondary schools (South Wales area) as well as 2 years teaching Primary (mostly long term supply). I have also taught EFL in South East Asia, Japan,(Head teacher and teacher trainer) Australia (6 years) as well as the UK including Cardiff and Swansea Universities (Business and University prep courses)

Tutoring Approach:

In a one hour class I provide advice on how to improve skills and achieve better grades using evidence of exemplary work, examples of pupils own work and my own ideas. The key is that pupils do homework, practising what they have learnt in the lesson and work is further examined at the beginning of the next lesson in order to look at mistakes and further improvement. As each pupil has their own learning styles different techniques (and speeds) are used with each pupil. Generally I have found working on a one to one basis pupils make 3X the speed of progress compared to school classes and their confidence improves dramatically.


  • Caerleon College (2001) - Primary teaching (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Cardiff University (1995) - Applied Linguistics (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Manchester metro university (1990) - Secondary English/History/Geog (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • North Staffs Polytecnic (1986) - BA Hons History, English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Whitchurch Maths tutor, Whitchurch English tutor, Whitchurch History tutor, Whitchurch Geography tutor, Whitchurch English (Foreign Language) tutor, Whitchurch Primary Maths tutor, Whitchurch Primary English tutor, Whitchurch Secondary English tutor, Whitchurch GCSE English tutor, Whitchurch Secondary History tutor, Whitchurch GCSE History tutor, Whitchurch Secondary Geography tutor, Whitchurch University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Whitchurch Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor