Skip to main content

Information About Marina - Wallington tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Marina:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00

Psychology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00
A-Level £45.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £35.00
13 Plus £35.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Map Location

Map for Marina (Ms)

Personal Description:

Hello and thank you for taking the time to find out something about me.

I've been a tutor for several years, prior to which I taught at a college, but I started my career working as a PA/administrator in a variety of well-known London companies.

I gained my BA Hons degree in Literature, Psychology and Sociology as a mature student, whilst taking a career break to raise my children. During this time, I was also involved in the literacy programme at a local primary school.

When I'm not working I enjoy reading fiction and non-fiction, creative writing, yoga and pilates, walking in the countryside, gardening and DIY.

Tutoring Experience:

I have over 10 years' experience, gained formerly as a teacher at Sutton College and latterly as a private tutor. At the college I taughter A level psychology, English and embedded maths.

I also developed and delivered staff training workshops and lectured on the teacher training programme.

As a private tutor, I focus on English and maths from primary to GCSE level, as well as assisting students in preparation for 11+ and common entrance exams. I have a proven track record of helping struggling students to achieve or exceed their predicted GCSE grades.

Tutoring Approach:

I carry out initial and ongoing informal assessments of the student and note areas of strength that can be built on and areas of weakness to work on. I create a programme of study for each individual, which is flexible to enable me to incorporate and focus on work that is being undertaken at the child's school and to respond and work on targets being set by the teachers.

I aim to make the sessions relaxed and friendly and to create a working relationship in which the child feels free to ask questions without fear. My methods help the child to become more confident about their ability in the subject, and this increased confidence is often commented on by the child's teacher. I also incorporate revision techniques and study skills into the sessions as appropriate.

I help the child to understand by relating the topic to their own life, thus making it more memorable and meaningful. I prefer to teach in the child's home as it is a familiar and therefore less daunting environment for them.

Although I refer to children here, I have also helped adults who need to obtain a qualification in maths or English for career or personal reasons.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Canterbury Christ Church University (2009) - Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • City and Guilds (2006) - ESOL Subject Specialists (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Trinity (2003) - TESOL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Kingston University (1998) - 2:1 English with Psychology and Sociology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wallington Maths tutor, Wallington English tutor, Wallington Psychology tutor, Wallington Entrance Exams tutor, Wallington English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington Study Skills tutor, Wallington Primary Maths tutor, Wallington Secondary Maths tutor, Wallington GCSE Maths tutor, Wallington Primary English tutor, Wallington Secondary English tutor, Wallington GCSE English tutor, Wallington GCSE Psychology tutor, Wallington A-Level Psychology tutor, Wallington Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Wallington Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Wallington Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Wallington Primary Study Skills tutor, Wallington Secondary Study Skills tutor, Wallington GCSE Study Skills tutor, Wallington A-Level Study Skills tutor, Wallington University Study Skills tutor, Wallington Casual Learner Study Skills tutor