Information About Marie - Greenwich tutor


Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £90.00
GCSE £90.00
A-Level £90.00

Map Location

Map for Marie (Miss)


Personal Description:

Dear family, dear students,
My name is Marie, 22, and I come from Lyon, France where I was born.
French is my mother tongue and I speak English fluently as well as Spanish.
I graduated last year at the Catholic University of Lyon where I did a BA (Licence) in Foreign Languages and International Relations.
I am currently a postgraduate student at Goldsmiths University where I do the MA Media and Communications.
I am a very sociable, optimistic, mature and joyful person. I have many interests such as Film, Classical music (I practiced Violin during 15 years), Art

Tutoring Experience:

I am willing to teach French to students up to the A-Levels in London area.
I taught English and Spanish to secondary school students in France during 2 years from 2012 to 2014 and helped them pass the A-Levels in those subjects. My last student, Pauline did very well and got a 15/20 in French for her A-levels.
I am now in London and would very much like to start tutoring again here as this is something I do enjoy and from which I gain a lot everytime.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe an efficient lesson should be about an hour and a half (per week). My price would be £20 for an hour and £25 for an hour and a half.
My way of tutoring consists in speaking French as much as possible during the lesson (depending on the student's level).
I would normally do the student's homework with him/her and help him/her understand what he/she found difficult in it. I would correct grammar as much as possible and do some small exercises in order not to make the same mistake again.
I do not hesitate to explain again once, twice or three times if I feel the student is unsure about my explanation or if he has forgotten about a particular grammar point.
I like to use cultural, art references everytime I can because I believe concrete examples help remembering things more easily. It is important that this lesson is more exciting and funnier than a normal French class at school, so the student is happy to work with me and do improve his language skills.
Finally, I would normally spend 15 minutes having a conversation in French with the student and would give him a very short homework to do for the next lesson every week in order to practice writing and comprehension.
Depending on the level, it could be a video to listen to and comment, a film to watch with French subtitles or a writing task.
I understand students are overwhelmed with homework so this should really be a light one.

Here are my availabilities, I am happy to travel to zone 3-4 if needed. I live in New Cross at the moment:
- Any evening during the week.
- Daytime and evening on Thursday and Friday. Thursday and Friday would be the best for me.
- Saturday morning and afternoon if no other solution.
- Not available on Sunday.


  • Catholic University of Lyon (ESTRI) (2013) - Applied Foreign Languages, Translation and International Relations (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lycée Pierre Termier, Lyon (2010) - Baccalauréat ES (French A-Levels in Economics, English speciality) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: French
Additional Languages: English (British), French, Japanese, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Greenwich French tutor, Greenwich Primary French tutor, Greenwich Secondary French tutor, Greenwich GCSE French tutor, Greenwich A-Level French tutor