Skip to main content

Information About Marie - Glasgow tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

Marie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Marie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Map for Marie (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I'm Marie, a 31 year old primary teacher who left my previous career path in Business, Leisure and Events Management to pursue teaching some 8 years ago. Growing up in the Western Isles and leaving Stornoway at 17 for college and university, I now live and teach in Glasgow and have a primary school aged daughter who attends the Glasgow Gaelic School.

My first Arts degree allowed me to gain experience in dissertation writing and research where my proficiency in English prevailed and I achieved a First Class Honours result. The experience I obtained in numeracy, economics, accounting and marketing enabled me to return to college to achieve a better grade in Higher level Maths, which then in turn allowed me gain accceptance onto a postgraduate diploma in Primary Teaching.

I initially took up tutoring upon being approached by a pupil support assistant in a primary 7 class in which I was teaching, whose son required additional support with Standard Grade Maths and English. She informed me that she enjoyed the way I teach and the manner I have with the children, thinking that her own son could benefit from the individualised approach I take with each child in my class. Since then, through recommendation and word of mouth, I have been tutoring for 5 years now and had many successful primary aged tutees who have raised their attainment in all primary subjects and secondary tutees who have attained Standard Grade Maths and English with credit level passes.

I am available for tutoring after school Monday to Friday and all weekend during term time as well as during the day in school holidays.

Tutoring Experience:

I am now entering into my eighth year of primary teaching and have been fortunate to obtain experience at all stages from primaries 1 to 7 during the transition phase from the 5-14 curriculum and now Scotland's Curriculum for Excellence.

Having worked in a number of local authorities across Scotland, I have enjoyed teaching children with a range of learning abilities and social backgrounds and am keen to provide learners with contextualised and exciting learning experiences to suit their own personal learning styles.

Currently teaching in the west end of Glasgow within a prestigiously renowned primary school, I am continuing to gain more experience of teaching children who have additional support needs; those with barriers to learning; whose first language is not English and those who present distressed behaviour patterns within a classroom setting.

Tutoring Approach:

In order to provide tutees with a personal experience which caters to their own individual learning style, I always aim to spend the first session getting to know the tutee, assessing how they prefer to learn and discovering whether there are any barriers to their learning.

My seven years classroom experience, and that gained from being a mother myself, has taught me that knowing what motivates a child to learn is the key to ensuring they are fully engaged in an enjoyable learning experience. I aim to make sure all of my tutees enjoy their tutoring sessions and become more confident in being able to raise their attainment in their taught subjects, using the first lesson to establish a plan, set out the long-term learning intentions and work together to implement an approach which is best suited to the tutee.

Qualifications:

  • Glasgow University (2012) - Certificate in Religous Education (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Strathclyde (2008) - Primary Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Glasgow Caledonian University (2007) - 1st Class Hons: Events & Entertainment Management (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Stow College (2003) - HND: Leisure Management (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Scottish Gaelic
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Glasgow Entrance Exams tutor, Glasgow Primary Entrance Exams tutor